You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Honey Hireme scores a try for New Zealand in 2017 World Cup final loss to Australia.

The Warriors have received a major boost ahead of the NRL Holden Women's Premiership after securing the services of Kiwi Ferns superstar Honey Hireme for the 2019 season.

Hireme will return to her homeland after a one-year stint at the Dragons, a club that has secured several Broncos recruits to make up for the huge loss in their backline.  

The highly-sought-after Hireme is arguably one of the game's most damaging ball runners, She made 19 tackle busts in three games during last year's inaugural competition.

It's understood the Broncos were also after her signature but Hireme's employment with New Zealand's television broadcast company Sky Sports helped the Warriors get the deal over the line.

"We're absolutely thrilled to have Honey in our squad this year," Warriors coach Luisa Avaiki said.

"She's a great athlete and an outstanding performer in all her sports. Honey is a fantastic example with the way she goes about her career, still maintaining the highest standards even after all the years she has been competing at the highest level."

Kiwi Ferns player Apii Nicholls.
Kiwi Ferns player Apii Nicholls. ©NRL Photos

The Warriors confirmed their 22-player squad on Wednesday with 11 new faces from their 2018 campaign - a season that finished with a 1-2 record.

Kiwi Ferns hooker Krystal Rota, who was shortlisted for the Women's Dally M Medal last year, joins the likes of returning players Apii Nicholls, Hilda Mariu, George Hale and Annetta-Claudia Nuuausala in the squad.

Rising forward Tasia Seumanufagai has also been signed after strong performances for Combined Affiliated States at the Harvey Norman National Championships last month.

Kiwi Ferns coach Justin Morgan will assist Avaiki for the 2019 season.


Warriors NRLW squad

Billy Jean Ale, Madison Bartlett, Georgia Hale, Honey Hireme, Amber Kani, Onjeurlina Leiataua, Hilda Mariu, Va’anessa Molia-Fraser, Jules Newman, Apii Nicholls, Tanika-Jazz Noble-Bell, Annetta-Claudia Nuuausala, Kanyon Paul, Charntay Poko, Roela Radiniyavuni, Timaima Ravisa, Krystal Rota, Tasia Seumanufagai, Aieshaleigh Smalley, Crystal Tamarua, Atawhai Tupaea, Kathleen Wharton Keremete.

Acknowledgement of Country

Queensland Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Platinum Partners

View All Partners