You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Junior talent on display in Eacham for grand final day

There will be plenty of exciting footy action in the Eacham Junior Rugby League grand finals this Saturday, with Ravenshoe District Junior Rugby League hosting the big event at their grounds.

Atherton is well represented with teams in Under 14 and Under 16 finals and a battle of two Atherton teams in the Under 12 grand final.

The full day will get underway at 9am on the main field with round robin games of Under 6, Under 7 and Under 8 teams followed by presentations.

At 10am, Under 9 teams round robin games will be played before presentations.

The Under 10 round robin games start at 11am, followed by presentations.

On a representative level, Eacham Panthers hosted the inaugural North Queensland Country Junior Championships in May where North Queensland teams were selected from Eacham, Innisfail, Mount Isa and Cape Torres leagues.

Ravenshoe junior Clayton Dalgety was named Under 16 player of the carnival and recipient of the Francis Mosby Medal.

Jackson Fahlstrom and Jhidan Dikes from Atherton were both named in the Under 14 North Queensland Marlins team.

Djerome Mooka-Salam from Ravenshoe and Luke Misener from Atherton were named in the Under 15 Merit team with Misener also being awarded Under 15 player of the carnival.

Keyarn Porter from Malanda gained selection in Under 16 team while Hannah Geary was named in the Under 16 girls team.

Eacham Junior Rugby League continues to be a leader in the development of women's rugby league through the great work done by Nicole Turner and Bec Mason.

The same can be said for Dennis Hamilton who has done a quality job mentoring the next generation of up and coming referees in his role as referees coordinator.

Eacham Junior Rugby League is looking forward to 2020 as the season is shaping up to be even bigger and better with positive changes coming into the game.

Eacham Junior Rugby League development clinics will be held at Atherton on October 13, Malanda on November 10 and Ravenshoe on December 8 with all registered players and coaches welcome to attend.

The Under 12 grand final between Atherton Red v Atherton Blue will kick off at 12.30pm and presentations will be held after the game. 

At 1.30pm the Under 14 grand final will take place between Malanda v Atherton followed by presentations.

The day will conclude with the Under 16 grand final between Malanda v Atherton at 2.45pm with presentations to follow.

 Under 12 Grand final team lists

Atherton Red

Ryland O'Hanlon

Jayden Beckham

Lucas Fraser

Markus Kiely

Blake Lang

Dylan Scrivener 

Kayden Payne

Rok Centofanti

Jackson Clark

Troy Taylor

Jason Barton

Rocco Pensini

Tyler McLaren

Liam Cole

Declan Leese

Tyler Triantafyllou

Justin Webley

Blake Lang

Travis Kolbe

Coach: Brendan Clark

Trainers: Kyle Lang, Paul Pensini and Kirk Triantafyllou

Atherton Blue

Nathaniel Ross

Landon Drew

Isaac Nasser

Shaun Darr

Kai Hammond

Xavier Armstrong

Max Bostock

Cooper Cifuentes

Jarrah Howe

Trent McNamara

Hamish Pezzelato

Caden Burrell

Kaleb Stein

Harrison Brotherson

Andrew Beazley

Lachlan Dreger

Jacob Muoio

Dekin Weare

Jarrah Mugford

Coach: Jesse Howe

Trainers: Shannon Harrop, Lauren Andrews, Pompey Pezzelato and Damien Ross

Under 14 Grand Final team lists

Malanda Eels

Mack Burns

Will Godfrey

Daniel Johnson

Angus Goetze

Kobi Hohnston

Harvey Horan

Tait Coghlan

Jesse Mancktelow

Brasher Coutts

Blade Smith

Gordon Grimshaw

Lincoln Kuhn

Morgan Solinas

Jack Inskip

Garrett Cupitt

Coach: Shane Solinas

Trainers: Kim Mastin, Melissa Burns, Alisha English and Dean Coutts

Atherton Roosters

Caylen Mchardie

Kayden McLaren

Zaimen Gilbert

Jude O'Connor

Dylan Serra

Jhidan Dikes

Noah Blooranta

Jackson Fahlstrom

Braith Marshal

Jordan Torrisi

Blake O'Day

Alex Nasser

Joel Trimble

Joe McCahon

Bailey Muoio

Tate Gowan

Tenzin Flemming

Joshua Marks-Stein

Coach: Barry Dikes

Trainers: Shannon Harrop, Peta Taske and Brett McLaren

Under 16 Grand Final team lists

Malanda Eels

Hamish Shore

Daniel Walker

Dennis Schiebel

Samuel Withers

Ryan Gallagher

Aiden Carson

Keanu Bowen-Wilson

Coopa Strmouchiw

Clayton Murray

Caleb Dawson

Keyarn Porter

Thomas Cuda

Hayden Chamberlain

Coach: Phillip Cuda

Trainers: Kim Mastin, Alisha English, Tom English and Dean Coutts

Atherton Roosters

Will Simms

Connor Bliss

Zach Rogers

Nicholas Greenwood

Joshua Ide

Toby Blooranta

Jayden Ives

Luke Misener

Matthew Beasley

Kyle Heenan

Kaleb Nielsen

Jack Gatacre

Zachary Nehow

Matthew Serra

John Seawright

Jeremy Beazley

Coach: Daryl Simms

Trainers: Kyle Lang, Lauren Andrews and Barry Dikes

Main image: Jackson Fahlstrom from Eacham Junior Rugby League was a 2019 representative player in Under 14 North Queensland Marlins team. Photo: Darryl Day.

Acknowledgement of Country

Queensland Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Platinum Partners