You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Sunshine Coast celebrate 100-years at awards event

More than 550 people attended the first-ever combined senior and junior Sunshine Coast / Gympie Rugby League presentation night recently.

Held at Twin Waters last Saturday, the evening also celebrated the 100-year anniversary for rugby league on the Sunshine Coast with the Queensland Rugby League Chairman Bruce Hatcher presenting a special plaque to acknowledge the milestone.​

Stalwart Graham Allen opened the evening by paying tribute to the founders of the League, recognising players past and present and providing some humorous stories of games gone-by.

The formalities also included the conferring of Life Membership for Tim Wood, Matthew Sherry and Darren Fraser from the juniors and Les Williams from the seniors.  

A full list of the award winners is below.

The formalities concluded with the cutting of the anniversary cake complete with sparklers.​

Congratulations to all award winners, but a special mention to those who made it all happen on the night, including; members of the Centenary Committee for their tireless efforts during the year to make it one not to forget - Dean Roberts, Debbie Roberts, Rhondda Poor, Christine Oakes and Matt Sherry and organisers Jessica Goldthorpe, Jodi and Michael Price, QRL Operations Managers James Ward and Nathan Mclean, Peter O'Leary and Nadia Parker

A special thanks also extends to to MC, Brendan O’Dea from WIN TV.  

Award winners 2019 

Award Winner
Burger of the Year Beerwah RLFC
Volunteer of the Year SCJRL: Andy Alexander - Palmwoods
SCGRL: Michael Price - Maroochydore
SCJRL Representative Players Zac Lamont, Mitchell Jennings and Jesse Page
SCGRL Representative Players Caleb Daunt and Lana Sheedy
SCGRL Rookie of the Year Zac Laybutt - Nambour
SCGRL Coach of the Year Jordan Dwyer - Maroochydore
SCGRL Most Points Under 18: Blair Watling - Caloundra
Division 2B: Jake Wood - Beachmere
Division 2A: Tony Ainsworth - Beerwah
Division 1: Mathew Kidd - Beerwah
Women: Sophia Fisher - Gympie and Latisha Hoek - Caboolture
SCGRL Most Tries Under 18: Flynn Martin - Caboolture
Division 2B: Brett Davis - Yandina
Division 2A: Jakson Shearer - Coolum
Division 1: Kalinga Turner - Beerwah
Women: Sophia Fisher - Gympie
SCGRL Referee of the Year Under 18: Connor Baker
Division 2B: Ian Smith
Division 2A: Adam Neale
Division 1: Dylan Cassidy
Women: Harrison Lea
Referees' Club of the Year Noosa
SCJRL Players of the Year Under 13 Boys Division 2: Caiden Ah See - Caloundra
Under 13 Boys Division 1: Cody King - Stanley River
Under 14 Boys Division 2: Reid Hickson - Stanley River
Under 14 Boys Division 1: Nathan Quinlan - Maroochydore
Under 14 Girls: Reegan Hicks - Stanley River
Under 15 Boys Division 2: Liam Bayldon - Gympie
Under 15 Boys Division 1: Lleyton Brettell - Caloundra
Under 16 Boys Division 2: Riley McMillan - Beerwah
Under 16 Boys Division 1: Blake Woodford - Nambour
Under 16 Girls: Lilly King - Stanley River
SCJRL James Ackerman Award Blake Woodford - Nambour
SCGRL Players of the Year Under 18: Liam Smith - Caloundra
Division 2B: Jake Wood - Beachmere
Division 2A: Tony Ainsworth - Beerwah
Division 1: Brenton Stonier - Nambour
Women: Codi Dalley - Maroochydore
Club Champions SCJRL: Kawana JRL
Club of the Year Caloundra JRL