You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Fogarty fires to win Petero Civoniceva Medal

Jamal Fogarty is this year’s Petero Civoniceva Medallist after a late season form surge propelled the Burleigh Bears halfback into esteemed company as the Intrust Super Cup’s best and fairest player.

Fogarty polled 17 points in the final 10 rounds of the competition to claim the prestigious award from dynamic Sunshine Coast Falcons pair Todd Murphy and Harry Grant.

Former international and Dolphins product Petero Civoniceva was on hand to present the classy Bears playmaker with the 2019 medal at tonight’s QRL Awards Dinner.

More than 400 guests gathered at Brisbane City Hall to celebrate the achievements of players, clubs, administrators and volunteers.

A former Beaudesert Kingfishers junior and XXXX Queensland Residents representative, Fogarty was the toast of the evening following his stunning personal accolade.

Fogarty polled maximum votes (three points) in five of Burleigh’s final 10 regular season games to finish on 28 points, two clear of Murphy with Grant a further point back.

Fogarty was able to torment his nearest rivals last Sunday as the Bears marched into this weekend’s Intrust Super Cup grand final on the back of their big win over the Falcons.

However, there was some consolation for the Falcons, with Murphy and Grant tonight named in the Intrust Super Cup Team of the Year alongside teammates Jon Reuben and Chris Lewis.

On the back of the club’s outstanding form throughout the regular season, first-year Falcons mentor Eric Smith was named Coach of the Year.

Emerging North Queensland talent Tom Gilbert was the Intrust Super Cup’s Rookie of the Year, while the Hastings Deering Colts Player of the Year was Northern Pride star Tom McGrath.

Joshua James (Norths Devils) and Hamiso Tabuai-Fidow (Townsville Blackhawks) shared the Auswide Bank Mal Meninga Cup Player of the Year; and emerging star Xavier Coates was named the XXXX Queensland Men’s Representative Player of the Year.

Annette Brander edged out a red-hot field to claim the Harvey Norman Representative Player of the Year; while another of the game’s female leaders - Sharon Hickey from the Pine Central Holy Spirit club in Brisbane – was formally announced as the recipient of the Women in League Award.

2019 QRL Awards Dinner, presented by Stage and Screen 

Queensland Rugby League Grassroots Club of the Year

Atherton Rugby League Football Club

Queensland Rugby League Volunteer of the Year

Bevan Owens - Normanton Stingers

Queensland Rugby League Women in League Achievement Award

Sharon Hickey - Pine Central Holy Spirit

Pedro Gallagher Intrust Super Cup Rookie of the Year, presented by the Carbine Club

Tom Gilbert - Townsville Blackhawks

Auswide Bank Mal Meninga Cup Player of the Year

Joshua James - Norths Devils and Hamiso Tabuai-Fidow - Townsville Blackhawks

Hastings Deering Colts Player of the Year

Tom McGrath - Northern Pride

Harvey Norman Queensland Women’s Representative Player of the Year

Annette Brander - Harvey Norman Queensland Maroons

XXXX Queensland Men’s Representative Player of the Year

Xavier Coates 

Intrust Super Cup Leading Points Scorer

Todd Murphy - Sunshine Coast Falcons - 270 points

Intrust Super Cup Leading Try Scorer

Jon Reuben - Sunshine Coast Falcons and Matt Soper-Lawler - Souths Logan Magpies, both 23 tries

Intrust Super Cup Team of the Year, presented by Stage and Screen

Fullback: Edene Gebbie - Wynnum Manly Seagulls

Winger: Jonathon Reuben - Sunshine Coast Falcons

Centre: Izaia Perese - Redcliffe Dolphins

Five-eighth: Pat Templeman - Wynnum Manly Seagulls

Halfback: Todd Murphy - Sunshine Coast Falcons

Prop: Jordan Grant - Redcliffe Dolphins

Hooker: Harry Grant  - Sunshine Coast Falcons

Second rower: Chris Lewis - Sunshine Coast Falcons

Lock: Tom Gilbert - Townsville Blackhawks

Intrust Super Cup Coach of the Year, presented by Stage and Screen

Eric Smith - Sunshine Coast Falcons

Petero Civoniceva Medal, presented by Stage and Screen

Jamal Fogarty - Burleigh Bears