You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Queensland Under 18 Emerging Origin squad for 2020

Queensland Rugby League has released the Queensland Under 18 Emerging Origin squad for 2020. 

Thirty-four of the state’s most talented teenagers, earmarked as possible future Queensland Maroons, have been selected in the squad. 

Many were involved in the QRL Statewide Competitions this year. Reece Walsh, Ediq Ambrosyev and Brendan Piakura were part of the winning Auswide Bank Mal Meninga Cup Tweed Seagulls team that went on to win the national title. 

Australian Schoolboys Jack Howarth and Sam Walker, who has since been signed by Sydney Roosters, are also in the squad. And a number of the players who made the cut had Queensland Under 16 honours in 2019, including Ragarive Wavik, Keanu Wright-Dunrobin, Shaun Packer, John Radel and Jeremia Nanai. 

The squad will get together for a camp, supported by the Queensland Academy of Sport, at the Sunshine Coast from January 15-17. 

The players, under coach Kurt Richards and assistant coaches Brad Davis and Corey Parker, will be exposed to key elements of the Maroons Emerging Origin Program with a focus on preparation, consistency and resilience.

QRL game development and high performance manager Joe McDermott said the camp was important to expose future elite talent to the Maroons culture.

"It's important, too, for us to identify and develop the next group of leaders - that will help ensure success into the future," McDermott said. 

"And for the group to bond. Mates will always step up for mates."

Queensland Emerging Origin Under 18 squad

Name 2019 club 
Byron Parnell South Sydney Juniors 
Blake Cesari  Highfields District Junior Rugby League
Keegan Vandenberg Redcliffe Dolphins 
Xavier Savage Easts Tigers 
Reece Walsh Tweed Seagulls 
Grand Hagai Wynnum Manly Seagulls 
Selwyn Cobbo Sunshine Coast Falcons 
Jayden Hunt Norths Devils 
Sam Walker Ipswich Jets 
Ragarive Wavik Brothers Townsville Junior Rugby League Club
Ezra Mam Souths Juniors Magpies Acacia Ridge 
Peyton Jenkins Brothers Rockhampton Junior Rugby League
Keanu Wright-Dunrobin Dalby Devils 
Brendan Piakura Tweed Seagulls 
Jeremia Nanai Western Lions 
Jack Howarth Easts Tigers 
Israel Higgins Currumbin Eagles 
Jayden Clarkson Redlands Rugby League Club 
Caleb Esera Souths Logan Magpies 
Brocco Uhrle Norths Devils 
Xavier Va'a Highfields District Junior Rugby League
Riley Hall Fassifern Bombers 
Abai Chatfield-Mooka Centrals ASA Junior Rugby League 
Isaiah Vailalo Centrals ASA Junior Rugby League 
Samuel Shannon Burleigh Bears 
Braythen Porter Norths Devils
Jake Baigrie Yeppoon Junior Rugby League
John Radel Wests Brisbane 
Lachlan Adamson Nerang Roosters 
Shaun Packer Southern Suburbs Junior Rugby League - Toowoomba
Ediq Ambrosyev Tweed Seagulls 
Jake Bourke Townsville Blackhawks
Damon Somerville Burleigh Bears
Tyrone Sa'U Parramatta Eels