You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

Brisbane Broncos captain Ali Brigginshaw has written herself into the history books after being crowned the Dally M female player of the year at an awards ceremony in Sydney on Monday night.

Brigginshaw is the second Broncos player to win the award since the introduction of the NRL Telstra Women's Premiership and just the third Queenslander overall in the medal's unique six-year history.

The personal career win is the first major award for Brigginshaw since she claimed player of the World Cup final honours in 2017.

The 30-year-old polled 16 votes to edge Broncos team-mate Tamika Upton (14), Roosters forward Hannah Southwell (13) and Warriors centre Evania Pelite (11) for the award.

A switch to the lock position under a new attacking structure at the Broncos has proved effective for the Ipswich-born leader this season with Brigginshaw averaging 165 kick metres, 16.6 tackles and 83 running metres.

NRLW Tackle of the Year - Hannah Southwell

Brigginshaw proved the difference in Brisbane's latest win against the Roosters and will again lead the side in Sunday's NRLW grand final at ANZ Stadium, where the Broncos are searching for a third consecutive title.

The Dally M medal is awarded to the player of the NRL Telstra Women's Premiership and is based on a 3-2-1 voting system throughout the season.

Previous winners include Jessica Sergis, who took out last year's award, and Queensland hooker Brittany Breayley.

Prior to the inaugural NRL Telstra Women's Premiership in 2018, three Dally M medal winners were awarded based on players' efforts at the international level.

NRLW Try of the Year - Madison Bartlett

Previous winners under the previous format included Roosters forward Simaima Taufa (2017), Dragons captain Kezie Apps (2016) and Jenni-Sue Hoepper, who was the inaugural winner in 2015.

In the other minor awards for the evening, powerful Roosters forward Kennedy Cherrington took home Rebel's rookie of the year award.

The 21-year-old has been outstanding for the Tricolours in her maiden NRLW season after switching codes earlier this year - averaging 128 metres and an 86.8% tackle efficiency rate.

Roosters team-mate Southwell claimed the tackle of the year award, while Madison Bartlett's try against the Dragons earned the side try of the year honours.


Acknowledgement of Country

Queensland Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Platinum Partners

View All Partners