You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Townsville name squad for first trial against Pride

The Townsville and Districts Mendi Blackhawks have named their side for the first trial match of 2021.

The squad will host Northern Pride this Saturday, February 27, with the trial game to be played at Jack Manski Oval.

The squad features a mix of established names and young up-and-comers who will be looking forward to playing some football following the cancellation of the 2020 Intrust Super Cup season after only one round.

Centre Daejarn Asi, who last weekend played in the Maori side in the NRL All Stars match has been named in the squad alongside experienced backs Kalifa Faifai-Loa and Carlin Anderson, while the forwards will be led by Sione Lousi and hooker Josh Chudleigh.

North Queensland Cowboys young gun Griffin Neame has been named to start at in the front row, with the Junior Kiwi representative having starred in the Auswide Bank Mal Meninga Cup and Hastings Deering Colts for the club in 2019.

The Intrust Super Cup game will kick off at 6pm with the club's Hasting Deering Colts facing off at 4pm.

The Townsville Blackhawks will play their first round match in the Intrust Super Cup on Saturday, March 20 at Norths Ipswich Reserve.

Townsville Blackhawks trial team list

1. Carlin Anderson
2. Dylan White
3. Daejarn Asi
4. Zinzaan Martin
5. Kalifa Faifai-Loa
6. Sam Martin-Savage
7. Aaron Moore
8. Griffin Neame
9. Josh Chudleigh
10. Kieran Quabba
11. Nathan Barrett
22. Sione Lousi
13. Riley Price
14. Sam Murphy
15. Andrew Niemoeller
16. Nick Brown
17. Jack Johnson
18. Ty Everett
19. Jake Bourke
20. Joey Jensen
24. Hamilton Taia


Acknowledgement of Country

Queensland Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Platinum Partners

View All Partners