You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Brisbane Tigers: Gains and losses for season 2021

Former New Zealand Kiwis representative Gerard Beale headlines an impressive list of signings at the new-look Brisbane Tigers for season 2021.

Beale has joined the club after announcing his NRL retirement last season, following a 12-year career which featured a grand final victory with Cronulla Sharks in 2016 as well as stints with Brisbane Broncos, St George Illawarra Dragons and New Zealand Warriors where he played 32 matches during his final seasons.

The Brisbane-born back also represented the Kiwis on the national stage 11 times.

With new coach Jon Buchanan at the helm, the Tigers have also secured the services of another international representative with PNG Kumuls and former North Queensland Cowboys back Dan Russell joining the squad.

Russell is one of four Tigers – including Michael Purcell, 2021 recruit Jordan Grant and Aaron Booth – who have been training with Melbourne Storm in the pre-season before heading back to Brisbane before Round 1.

Experienced Intrust Super Cup performers Grant, Darren Nicholls, Mitch Frei and Brayden Torpy round out a strong list of new names who will be looking to make their mark at the club. 

The Tigers will kick off their Intrust Super Cup season in Round 1 against Norths Devils.

Brisbane Tigers 2021 gains and losses

Gains: Brayden Torpy (Carina Tigers), Luke Dolbol (Mackay Cutters), Cameron Torpy (Carina Tigers), Connor Carey (Carina Tigers), Dan Russell (North Queensland Cowboys), Darren Nicholls (Souths Logan Magpies), Gerard Beale (New Zealand Warriors), Hugh Pratt (Marist Brothers Rams Lismore), Ioane Seiuli (Gold Coast Titans), Jordan Grant (Redcliffe Dolphins), Kea Pere (Gold Coast Titans), Mitch Frei (Souths Logan Magpies), Sam Lavea (Sunshine Coast Falcons), Haele Finau (Victoria Thunderbolts), Frank Kuresa (Canterbury Bulldogs)

Losses: Bill Cullen (Moranbah Miners), Curtis Dansey-Smaller (released), Dray Ngatuere-Wroe (Souths Logan Magpies), Jaiyden Hunt (St George Illawarra Dragons), James Waterson (released), Jarred Tuite (retired), Jayden Berrell (Wynnum Manly Seagulls), Justin Fai (Souths Logan Magpies), Kurt Baptiste (Sunshine Coast Falcons), Logan Bayliss-Brow (released), Marcus Jensen (retired), Sam Collins (Norths Devils), Sam Foster (retired), Zac Masters (released)

*Submissions made by clubs and correct at time of publication.

Acknowledgement of Country

Queensland Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Platinum Partners

View All Partners