You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

If ever there were two teams hoping for a little "magic" in round 10 it's the Sharks and Rabbitohs.

Both these teams arrive in Brisbane with their tails between their legs after being unable to score a point in humiliating losses last week - the Rabbitohs by 50-0 to the Storm and the Sharks by 48-0 to the Panthers.

Despite South Sydney's embarrassment it was their first loss in eight weeks and they were down on key personnel. But it's a totally different story for coach Josh Hannay and the Sharks as they are now looking at a sixth straight defeat if they can't find a formula to beat Wayne Bennett's side.

One small advantage for Cronulla might be the fact Latrell Mitchell is still suspended.

It is the powerfully built fullback's fourth and final game on the sidelines for his dangerous contact on Wests Tigers winger David Nofoaluma.

But in truth the Sharks appear to have lost their way, as well as their confidence, with their last win coming way back in round four over the Cowboys.

The rundown

Team news

Sharks: Matt Moylan has replaced star playmaker Shaun Johnson, who didn’t travel with the team to Queensland after suffering a minor hamstring injury at training on Tuesday, at five-eighth.

Johnson will have to wait at least another week to bring up his milestone 200th NRL game. Cronulla are confident the playmaker will only miss 1-2 weeks.

Braydon Trindall takes Moylan's place on the interchange with Jenson Taumoepeau the other omission 24 hours before kickoff.

Billy Magoulias is 18th man with Franklin Pele dropping out of the squad on game day. 

Josh Dugan gets the call-up to replace centre Jesse Ramien who will miss 4-6 weeks after scans confirmed a fractured eye socket caused by an accidental elbow to the face in the clash with Penrith.

The other big inclusion for Cronulla is Andrew Fifita, the veteran prop returning from a NSW Cup suspension to play his first top-grade game of 2021 from the interchange bench with versatile back-rower Bill Magoulias dropping back to the reserves.

Ronaldo Mulitalo (knee), Sione Katoa (knee) and Jackson Ferris (foot) are all at least another week away from being available for selection. 

The Sharks have won their past four games in Queensland.

Rabbitohs: In a huge boost halfback Adam Reynolds (thumb) has returned ahead of schedule, reclaiming the No.7 jersey which shifts Benji Marshall back to five-eighth and sends rookie playmaker Dean Hawkins out of the side.

Taane Milne has been brought in on the wing which allows Dane Gagai to return to the centres.

There has also been movement in the forwards with Liam Knight moving from the interchange to lock in a swap with Jai Arrow while Hame Sele takes Patrick Mago's place on the bench.

Patrick Mago is the 18th man with Hawkins dropping off the reserves on game day after Troy Dargan and Steven Marsters were omitted 24 hours before kick-off.

Veteran winger Josh Mansour (hamstring) and gun No.1 Latrell Mitchell (suspension) are due back in round 11.

The Rabbitohs have won 16 of their past 20 games when Reynolds has played.

Team Lists


  • Fullback for Sharks is number 1 William Kennedy
    Fullback for Rabbitohs is number 1 Cody Walker
  • Winger for Sharks is number 2 Mawene Hiroti
    Winger for Rabbitohs is number 2 Alex Johnston
  • Centre for Sharks is number 3 Josh Dugan
    Centre for Rabbitohs is number 3 Dane Gagai
  • Centre for Sharks is number 4 Will Chambers
    Centre for Rabbitohs is number 4 Braidon Burns
  • Winger for Sharks is number 5 Connor Tracey
    Winger for Rabbitohs is number 5 Taane Milne
  • Five-Eighth for Sharks is number 14 Matt Moylan
    Five-Eighth for Rabbitohs is number 6 Benji Marshall
  • Halfback for Sharks is number 7 Chad Townsend
    Halfback for Rabbitohs is number 7 Adam Reynolds


  • Prop for Sharks is number 8 Aiden Tolman
    Prop for Rabbitohs is number 8 Thomas Burgess
  • Hooker for Sharks is number 9 Blayke Brailey
    Hooker for Rabbitohs is number 9 Damien Cook
  • Prop for Sharks is number 10 Aaron Woods
    Prop for Rabbitohs is number 10 Tevita Tatola
  • 2nd Row for Sharks is number 11 Briton Nikora
    2nd Row for Rabbitohs is number 11 Keaon Koloamatangi
  • 2nd Row for Sharks is number 12 Wade Graham
    2nd Row for Rabbitohs is number 12 Jaydn Su'A
  • Lock for Sharks is number 13 Toby Rudolf
    Lock for Rabbitohs is number 13 Liam Knight


  • Interchange for Sharks is number 15 Teig Wilton
    Interchange for Rabbitohs is number 14 Mark Nicholls
  • Interchange for Sharks is number 16 Jack Williams
    Interchange for Rabbitohs is number 15 Hame Sele
  • Interchange for Sharks is number 17 Andrew Fifita
    Interchange for Rabbitohs is number 16 Jed Cartwright
  • Interchange for Sharks is number 18 Braydon Trindall
    Interchange for Rabbitohs is number 17 Jai Arrow


  • Reserve for Sharks is number 19 Billy Magoulias
    Reserve for Rabbitohs is number 19 Patrick Mago

Match Officials

  • Referee: Chris Sutton
  • Touch Judge: Ziggy Przeklasa-Adamski
  • Touch Judge: Darian Furner
  • Senior Review Official: Alan Shortall

Last updated:

Key match-up

Aaron Woods v Tom Burgess: Experienced props Burgess and Woods need to lead the way with a few determined runs up the middle so respective hookers Damien Cook and Blayke Brailey can start to do a bit of damage around the ruck. Burgess and Woods are both international players so they need to let some of that fire and spirit spill out on to Suncorp Stadium to lift their teammates.

Stat attack

The last time the Sharks lost six straight was the back end of 2014 (rounds 21-26) - funnily enough when there was also two different coaches for the season. Peter Sharp and James Shepherd stepped in after the suspension of Shane Flanagan over the supplements saga.

Then again, the Sharks' last streak of five straight defeats was in 2019 (rounds 14-18) and they still made the finals that year.


Head to NRL Pick'Em and get pickin’ to win a share of $100,000 cash every week!

Acknowledgement of Country

Queensland Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Platinum Partners

View All Partners