You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Wynnum Manly name squad to face Broncos in trial

Wynnum Manly Seagulls Hostplus Cup coach Adam Brideson has named a host of local juniors to make their senior debuts in the Wynnum Manly's first hit-out of the season against the Brisbane Broncos on Saturday, February 12, at BMD Kougari Oval.

Local juniors Max Plath, Ethan Malt and Braden Whittaker are set to make their senior team debuts after playing in the winning Hastings Deering Colts team last year, as is Kyle Coghill, who returns from a stint with Brisbane Tigers.

Whittaker: 'I'd like to play Cup this year and play consistent footy'

After a delayed start to 2021 due to a knee injury, Plath - son of former Wynnum Manly and Broncos player John Plath - had a huge finish to the season, securing the Colts’ grand final win with an extra-time field goal.

There are also a number of new players playing their first game for Wynnum Manly, including Bailey Hartwig, Brandon Jackonia and Caleb Daunt, while Dredin Sorensen returns to the club after two years in New Zealand.

The Broncos named a strong team earlier in the week with a host of NRL experience and the Wynnum Manly's large squad will all be vying for positions following a successful 2021 season.

Wynnum Manly Seagulls v Brisbane Broncos trial tickets available here.

Overall, eight members of the premiership-winning Colts team will play in the match as they look to secure a position in the Hostplus Cup team for the 2022 season.

Key times

10.30am: Gates open

11.15am: Harvey Norman Women’s Under 19 Girls – Wynnum Manly Seagulls v Norths Devils

12.50pm: Cyril Connell Challenge – Wynnum Manly Seagulls v Norths Devils

2.15pm: Auswide Bank Mal Meninga Cup – Wynnum Manly Seagulls v Norths Devils

4pm: NRL trial match – Wynnum Manly Seagulls v Brisbane Broncos  

Wynnum Manly Seagulls squad for Brisbane Broncos trial

Aaron Rockley
Bailey Hartwig
Ben Farr
Braden Whittaker
Brandon Jackonia
Caleb Daunt
Clayton Mack
Daine Spencer
Dredin Sorenson
EJ Lui
Ethan Malt
Felix Faatilli
Harrison Graham
Jack Bowyer
Jacob Sturt
James Robinson
Jayden Connors
Kalolo Saitaua
Kelepi Faukafa
Kyle Coghill
Lachlan Lee
Luke Bateman
Mathew Lyons
Matiu Love-Henry
Max Elliott
Max Plath
Nofoasa Malutoa
Ryan O’Keefe
Sam Scarlett
Sione Hopoate
Tom Farr
Tristan Hope
Sebastian Winters-Chang

Acknowledgement of Country

Queensland Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Platinum Partners

View All Partners