You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Players named for positional skills days

More than 100 talented young players will have the opportunity to learn from some of Queensland’s greatest players early next month. 

The Queensland Rugby League is hosting four positional skills days during the school holidays where 16 and 17-year-olds from throughout the state will spend time rubbing shoulders with Former Origin Greats (FOGS).

Using experiences on-field and through video analysis, the days will provide players with an opportunity to explore the intricate details and demands of playing their position.

State of Origin series winners Gavin Cooper and Brent Tate will launch the four one-day events at North Queensland Cowboys headquarters in Townsville on Monday, April 4.

Co-ordinated by QRL male pathways coach Guy Williams, the positional skills days will be held in Townsville (April 4), Ipswich (April 5), Sunshine Coast (April 11) and Rockhampton (April 12).

Along with Tate and Cooper, Williams will be joined by former Maroons players Darius Boyd, Greg Inglis and Michael Morgan at the various days.

QRL mentor coaches John Dixon and Mick Kennedy will be on hand to coach the players and will be joined by Queensland Under 19 coach Kurt Richards and Harvey Norman Queensland Maroons coach Tahnee Norris.

Neil Henry and Kurt Richards. Photo: Jason O'Brien/QRL
Neil Henry and Kurt Richards. Photo: Jason O'Brien/QRL

Joining the trio of coaches is series-winning Queensland Origin assistant coach Neil Henry and former Maroons winger and Hostplus Cup premiership-winning coach Adam Mogg.

Williams has worked closely with Queensland junior representative selectors to put together the 30-strong player squads for each day.

“The position skills days will provide a really exciting opportunity for players to tap into the expertise of some experienced coaches, and also pick the brains of a number of former Origin greats, who were some of the best players in their positions,” Williams said.

In the coming days, players will receive an email from the QRL with more details.

Townsville squad

Name From
Tekelu Mene Townsville Blackhawks
Rayzarlin Pearson Townsville Blackhawks
James Minneicon Northern Pride
Jirra Twist Brisbane
Darby Butler Charters Towers
Kyan Sheppard Northern Pride
Reece Foley Townsville Blackhawks
Liam O'Brien Northern Pride
Hoani Harris Townsville Blackhawks
Lachlan Erba Herbert River
Adrian Sandy Townsville
 Jidan Dykes Northern Pride
Tait Coghlan Northern Pride
Blake Dorahy Northern Pride
Braithen Ketchell Northern Pride
Cain Hastie Northern Pride
Orlando Nawarie Townsville Blackhawks
Vai Nanai Northern Pride
Noah Caisley Northern Pride
Wyatt Lourigan Yeppoon
Elijah Tapau-Taylor Townsville Blackhawks
Jamal Shibasaki Townsville Blackhawks
Jason Hallie Northern Pride
Ma'taeo Benioni Northern Pride
Cameron Nelson Northern Pride
Jamaine Stanley  Townsville
Kanye Pua'avase Townsville Blackhawks
Marley Helion Northern Pride
Kaiden Lahrs Townsville Blackhawks
Jamal Shibasaki. Photo: Townsville Blackhawks
Jamal Shibasaki. Photo: Townsville Blackhawks

Rockhampton squad



Name From
Kai Simon Mackay Cutters
Will Shears Mackay Cutters
Balin Burnett Mackay Cutters
Tenzin Contor Mackay Cutters
Ryder Huth Central Queensland Capras
Seb Nona Yeppoon
Mutua Brown Central Queensland Capras
Banjo Walker Central Queensland Capras
Jaxon Purdue Mackay Cutters
Xavier Kerrisk Mackay Cutters
Harry Thorpe Mackay Cutters
Zack Bryce Rockhampton
Tommy Green Central Queensland Capras
Samuel  Chick Central Queensland Capras
Braelan Marsh Central Queensland Capras
Clancy Hohn Central Queensland Capras
Liam Doherty Mackay Cutters
Connor Hinds Central Queensland Capras
Flynn Hone Proserpine
Ryan Martin Central Queensland Capras
Carter Ford Central Queensland Capras
Jett Day Central Queensland Capras
Matthew Watts Mackay Cutters
Henry Thorpe Mackay Cutters
Levi Love Mackay Cutters
Hudson Galletly Mackay 
Tavita Penaia-Teo Central Queensland Capras
Kayne Smith Mackay Cutters
Bill Flynn Mackay Cutters
Bailey Meilland Central Queensland Capras


Ipswich squad

Name From
Xavier Atoa Souths Logan Magpies
Devonte Vaivela Souths Logan Magpies
Israel Leota Souths Logan Magpies
Zyroam Tarawa-herlihy Brisbane Tigers
Philip Hakaraia-Ngamotu Burleigh Bears
 Maika Poese Brisbane Tigers
Bailey Trew Souths Logan Magpies
Stanley Huen Souths Logan Magpies
William Saunders Tweed Seagulls
Lyhkan King-Togia Western Clydesdales
Keahn Skipps Burleigh Bears
Bailey Mcconnell Burleigh Bears
Jacob Tinsley Souths Logan Magpies
Tyler Peckham-Harris Ipswich Jets
Bailey Nash Western Clydesdales
Lewis Symonds Souths Logan Magpies
Braden Teuila Souths Logan Magpies
LJ Nonu Ipswich Jets
Bailey Rathmell Western Clydesdales
Bud Smith Western Clydesdales
Jacob Moreton Tweed Seagulls
Isaac Togia Ipswich Jets
Mikael Ibrahim Brisbane Tigers
Jett Jackson Tweed Seagulls
Taelon Te Whiu-Hopa Tweed Seagulls
Harrison Schwenke Western Clydesdales
Wailer Whaiapu Burleigh Bears
David Leota Ipswich Jets


 Sunshine Coast squad

Name From
Tyreece Tait Norths Devils
Poutoa Hotere-Papalii Norths Devils
Tariq Tanner Norths Devils
Brooklenn Mundraby-Grogan Sunshine Coast Falcons
Jayden Alefaio Redcliffe Dolphins
Robertson Tusi-Tofu Norths Devils
Karl Oloapu Norths Devils
Mitchell Rogers Redcliffe Dolphins
Tulloch Mclellan Sunshine Coast Falcons
Cameron Bukowski Wynnum Manly Seagulls
Jeremy Trappett Wynnum Manly Seagulls
Ezekial Monckton Wide Bay Bulls
Jett Elich Sunshine Coast Falcons
Zac Herdigan Wynnum Manly Seagulls
Coby Black Wynnum Manly Seagulls
Mason Kira Sunshine Coast Falcons
Cayleb Johnson Wynnum Manly Seagulls
Jayden Smith Sunshine Coast Falcons
Beni Allen Wynnum Manly Seagulls
Tyrell (Reece) Hopkins Wide Bay Bulls
Frankie Goldsbrough Wynnum Manly Seagulls
Jett Bryce Wynnum Manly Seagulls
Zac Garton Sunshine Coast Falcons
Lauloto Salei Norths Devils
Michael Waqa Redcliffe Dolphins
Chase Paterson Sunshine Coast Falcons
Brock Thomas Sunshine Coast Falcons
Amos Tuialii Redcliffe Dolphins
Will Sologinkin Redcliffe Dolphins
Prestyn Laine-Sietu Redcliffe Dolphins
Joseph Pouniu Redcliffe Dolphins


Cameron Bukowski. Photo: Jorja Brinums/QRL
Cameron Bukowski. Photo: Jorja Brinums/QRL



Acknowledgement of Country

Queensland Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Platinum Partners

View All Partners