You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Queensland Maroons Game I squad

The Queensland Rugby League is pleased to confirm the Queensland Maroons squad for Game I of the State of Origin series against the New South Wales Blues.

Four players who have come through Queensland Rugby League’s pathway competitions and programs will make their Origin debuts for the Maroons, who assemble in Brisbane today to begin preparations for the June 8 clash in Sydney. 

Cherbourg Hornets junior Selwyn Cobbo has played his way onto the wing following a series of consistent performances for the Brisbane Broncos, while a similar rich vein of form has been the catalyst for the selection of North Queensland Cowboys forward Reuben Cotter at lock.

Maroons coach Billy Slater has also injected new blood onto the interchange bench, with Patrick Carrigan (Brisbane Broncos) and Jeremiah Nanai (North Queensland Cowboys) named alongside Harry Grant and Lindsay Collins.

Collins returns to the Origin arena for the first time since 2020 in which he played all three games of the series.

Queensland selectors have also rewarded the consistent efforts of forward mainstays Tino Fa'asuamaleaui, Josh Papalii, Kurt Capewell and Felise Kaufusi.

They will pack down alongside starting hooker Ben Hunt, who starred for Queensland in the No. 9 jersey in last year’s Game III victory.

The proven halves combination of captain Daly Cherry-Evans and Cameron Munster unite again, with the experienced duo to combine with an exciting backline featuring Kalyn Ponga, Cobbo, Valentine Holmes, Dane Gagai and Xavier Coates.

Tom Dearden, Jai Arrow, Thomas Flegler, Hamiso Tabuai-Fidow and Murray Taulagi will also join the Maroons camp as part of an extended squad.

Cherry-Evans will captain the Maroons for a fourth consecutive series.

Queensland Maroons Game I squad

  1. Kalyn Ponga - Newcastle Knights
  2. Selwyn Cobbo - Brisbane Broncos
  3. Valentine Holmes - North Queensland Cowboys
  4. Dane Gagai - Newcastle Knights
  5. Xavier Coates - Melbourne Storm
  6. Cameron Munster - Melbourne Storm
  7. Daly Cherry-Evans - Manly Sea Eagles
  8. Tino Fa'asuamaleaui - Gold Coast Titans
  9. Ben Hunt - St George Illawarra Dragons
  10. Josh Papalii - Canberra Raiders
  11. Kurt Capewell - Brisbane Broncos
  12. Felise Kaufusi - Melbourne Storm
  13. Reuben Cotter - North Queensland Cowboys
  14. Harry Grant - Melbourne Storm
  15. Lindsay Collins - Sydney Roosters
  16. Patrick Carrigan - Brisbane Broncos
  17. Jeremiah Nanai - North Queensland Cowboys
  18. Tom Dearden - North Queensland Cowboys
  19. Jai Arrow - South Sydney Rabbitohs
  20. Thomas Flegler - Brisbane Broncos
  21. Hamiso Tabuai-Fidow - North Queensland Cowboys
  22. Murray Taulagi - North Queensland Cowboys                                                   
Acknowledgement of Country

Queensland Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Platinum Partners

View All Partners