You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Queensland Universities team named

A group of players with Hostplus Cup experience has ensured the Queensland Universities team will take confidence into their clash against NSW Universities later this month.

The Queensland team was selected this week for the match against NSW being held at Maroochydore RLFC on Saturday, June 25.

It will be the first time since 2019 that the annual Universities Challenge between the two states has been played.

In Queensland’s forward pack, Mackay’s Luke Webley, Ipswich’s Owen McCarron, and props Harrison Leonard (Central Queensland) and Joe Gimour (Brisbane Tigers) all have Hostplus Cup experience.

Similarly, outside backs Blake Paskins (Mackay), Rashaun Denny (main image - Norths Devils), Ratu Jope Rotavisoro (Ipswich Jets) and Zac Croft (Brisbane Tigers) are all players with state league top-grade matches to their name.

An Australian Universities team will be selected from the game, with talks underway to play in a tournament with the Australian Police and Australian Defence Force teams later this year.

Queensland Universities 2022 team

(alphabetical order)

Flynn Camillieri
Zac Croft
Rashaun Denny
Callum Eggerling
Joe Gilmour
Cooper Hewett
Harrison Leonard
Ethan Malt
Owen McCarron
Blake Paskins
Ratu Jope Ratavisoro
Maverick Pegoraro
Jordan Penquitt
Simon Pratt
Kane Simon
Jett Trembath
Luke Webley
Braden Whittaker

Head coach: Mark Gliddon
Assistant coach: Jody Barlow
Team manager – Martin Unicomb
Trainers: Mark Lane, Lee Munt 
Physiotherapist: Mitchell Chad
Data / statistician: Liam Bromilow

Acknowledgement of Country

Queensland Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Platinum Partners

View All Partners