You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
2022 Australian Schoolboys Team announced

The best and brightest schoolboy talent was in action last week with the 2022 Australian Secondary Schools Rugby League Championships taking place in Redcliffe, Queensland.

After five days of action in the U/18's, it was the Queensland Secondary Schools who clinched the final over the New South Wales Combined High Schools team, running out 32-18 winners.

In the U/15's, it was an all New South Wales affair in one final, with the Combined Independent Schools team narrowly defeating the Combined High Schools side 16-14, while Victoria downed Western Australia 32-10 in their match.

Following the completion of the tournament, the best U/18's players were named as part of the Australian Schoolboys team ahead of their Test match later this year.

The Australian Schoolboys team is recognised as part of the NRL's elite pathway development, and it is in this capacity that the annually-selected team dons the green and gold colours of Australia.

Mayor Peter Flannery said Council has worked with the National Rugby League to bring teams from around the country together.

“Our partnership with the NRL is going from strength to strength," he said. As home to the Warriors in 2022 and the Dolphins NRL from 2023, more than 5,500 local players and 14 junior clubs, Moreton Bay Region is one of Australia’s great rugby league heartlands and the perfect place to host elite pathways tournaments such as the Australian Secondary Schools Rugby League competition.

“Council has helped turn Moreton Daily Stadium into one of the best boutique sports venues in Australia with our $8.5 million investment toward the overall $24 million upgrades and thanks to contributions from the Federal and State Governments.

"After a hugely successful NRL Telstra Women's Premiership Grand Final at the venue in April, delivered in partnership with the NRL and Tourism and Events Queensland, it has been wonderful to see both male and female rugby league stars of tomorrow playing at the Stadium this week.”

2022 Australian Schoolboys Team

  • Chris Faagutu (Marsden State High School)
  • Ethan Ferguson (Lambton High School)
  • Thomas Fletcher (St Gregory's College)
  • Harry Hassett (The Hills Sports High School)
  • Arama Hau (Keebra Park SHS)
  • Isaiya Katoa (Barker College)
  • Keano Kinni (Palm Beach Currumbin SHS)
  • Liam Le Blanc (St Joseph's College, Nudgee)
  • Jesse McLean (Newington College)
  • Karl Oloapu (Wavell SHS)
  • Josiah Pahulu (Ipswich SHS)
  • Joash Papalii (Holy Spirit College Lakemba)
  • Michael Roberts (Palm Beach Currumbin SHS)
  • Gabriel Satrick (Ipswich SHS)
  • Chevy Stewart (Endeavour Sports High)
  • Blaize Talagi (Westfields Sports High)
  • Sam Tuivaiti (Westfields Sports High)
Acknowledgement of Country

Queensland Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Platinum Partners

View All Partners