You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks halfback Nicho Hynes has won the 2022 Dally M Medal – with the highest ever individual score in the history of the award.

Hynes polled 38 points, taking out the Dally M Medal ahead of Sydney Roosters fullback James Tedesco (33 points) and St George Illawarra halfback Ben Hunt (32 points), becoming the first Sharks player since 2001 to take out the award.

Sydney Roosters halfback Raecene McGregor capped a wonderful season by being crowned the 2022 Dally M Female Player of the Year.

The biggest ever Dally M Awards - with a fully integrated NRL and NRLW presence throughout the awards for the first time ever - was held at Winx Stand at Royal Randwick Racecourse.

A Dally M Female Team of the Year was named alongside a Dally M Male Player of the Year for the first time in the event’s history.

“We have the best athletes in the world, the most tribal clubs you could imagine, competing in the most entertaining competitions on the planet,” NRL CEO Andrew Abdo said.

“The Dally Ms are all about the players. Millions of fans watch the Premierships because of them. Kids grow up wanting to play because of them. Communities gather at local parks every weekend because of them.

“Tonight we have celebrated what we love. Moments that captivated us. Tonight we have celebrated the spirit of rugby league encapsulated by the male and female athletes who make our sport great. Congratulations to all the winners.”

Hynes was also awarded the Provan-Summons Medal, for his post-match interview advocating for mental health following the passing of Paul Green.

Panthers Grand Final captain Isaah Yeo also capped a stellar night, awarded Dally M Captain of the Year and Dally M Lock of the Year. The Grand Finalists also boasted Viliame Kikau (Second-rower of the Year) and Api Koroisau (Hooker of the Year) in the Team of the Year.

McGregor earned three points across each of Rounds 2-4 of the NRLW Premiership to win the 2022 Dally M Female Player of the Year Award.

Grand Final Captains Millie Boyle (Prop of the Year) and Simaima Taufa (Lock of the Year) both became members of the first ever Dally M Female Team of the Year.

At just 17 years of age, Knights halfback Jesse Southwell won the Dally M Female Rookie of the Year Award.

And in another sign of the growth of the women’s game, Jada Taylor’s extraordinary try in the Under-19s State of Origin fixture was awarded the Peter Frilingos Headline Moment, alongside Queensland’s epic victory in Ampol State of Origin III.

Final Dally M Leaderboard

Nicho Hynes 38

James Tedesco 33

Ben Hunt 32

Scott Drinkwater 23

Dylan Edwards 23

Mitchell Moses 22

Daly Cherry-Evans 21

Isaah Yeo 20

Harry Grant 19

Cameron Munster 19

The full list of winners is:


Dally M Medal – Nicho Hynes – Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks

Fullback – James Tedesco – Sydney Roosters

Winger – Joseph Sua'ali'i – Sydney Roosters

Winger – Alex Johnston – South Sydney Rabbitohs

Centre – Joseph Manu – Sydney Roosters

Centre – Valentine Holmes – North Queensland Cowboys

Five-Eighth – Cameron Munster – Melbourne Storm

Halfback – Nicho Hynes – Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks

Prop – Joseph Tapine – Canberra Raiders

Prop – Payne Haas – Brisbane Broncos

Hooker – Api Koroisau – Penrith Panthers

Second Row – Viliame Kikau – Penrith Panthers

Second Row – Jeremiah Nanai – North Queensland Cowboys

Lock – Isaah Yeo – Penrith Panthers

Rookie of the Year – Jeremiah Nanai – North Queensland Cowboys

Captain of the Year – Isaah Yeo – Penrith Panthers

Coach of the Year – Todd Payten – North Queensland Cowboys

Top Points Scorer – Valentine Holmes – North Queensland Cowboys

Top Try Scorer (Ken Irvine Medal) – Alex Johnston – South Sydney Rabbitohs

Peter Frilingos Headline Moment – Jada Taylor/Queensland’s State of Origin win

Provan-Summons – Nicho Hynes – Cronulla Sutherland Sharks

DrinkWise Try of the Year - Scott Drinkwater - North Queensland Cowboys

YOUI Tackle of the Year: Mitchell Moses (Parramatta Eels)

VB Hardest Working Player of the Year: Isaiah Papali’i (Parramatta Eels)


Dally M Medal - Raecene McGregor – Sydney Roosters

Fullback - Sam Bremner – Sydney Roosters

Winger - Teagan Berry – St George Illawarra Dragons

Winger - Jaime Chapman – Brisbane Broncos

Centre - Isabelle Kelly – Sydney Roosters

Centre - Jessica Sergis – Sydney Roosters

Five-Eighth - Tarryn Aiken – Brisbane Broncos

Halfback - Raecene McGregor – Sydney Roosters

Prop - Caitlan Johnston – Newcastle Knights

Prop - Millie Boyle – Newcastle Knights

Hooker - Keeley Davis – St George Illawarra Dragons

Second-Rower - Keilee Joseph – Sydney Roosters

Second-Rower - Olivia Kernick – Sydney Roosters

Lock - Simaima Taufa – Parramatta Eels

Provan Summons Medal - Toni Hunt – Brisbane Broncos

Coach of the Year - John Strange – Sydney Roosters

Top Points Scorer – Zahara Temara – Sydney Roosters

Top Try Scorer – Jayme Fressard – Sydney Roosters

Rookie of the Year - Jesse Southwell – Newcastle Knights

Captain - Isabelle Kelly – Sydney Roosters

Try of the Year – Tarryn Aiken – Brisbane Broncos

Tackle of the Year – Tarryn Aiken – Brisbane Broncos

Acknowledgement of Country

Queensland Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Platinum Partners

View All Partners