You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Class of 2022: Retiring and departing bid farewell to NRL

A host of veterans and stars of the game will bid farewell after the 2022 NRL and NRLW seasons are complete on Sunday, and for many, following illustrious careers in the game.

Sharks veteran Aiden Tolman, who played the final game of his rugby league career against the Rabbitohs, will hang up the boots after 317 NRL appearances.

Many NRL players are en route to the Super League including Eels centre Tom Opacic and former Origin and international representatives Paul Vaughan and Josh McGuire.

Former Bulldog Matt Dufty left the club mid-season while Broncos winger David Mead, Raider Sam Williams and Warrior Ash Taylor all retired throughout the year.

Several other past NRL players were farewelled at the retiree's luncheon on Friday including former Rabbitoh and Wests Tigers star Benji Marshall, Corey Norman and the Morris brothers - Josh and Brett, who will be acknowledged on Grand Final day.

NRL honours retiring and milestone players of 2022

Meanwhile, several stars remain off-contract with their futures up in the air including former Wests Tigers captain James Tamou, Sharks skipper Wade Graham and Rabbitohs winger Josh Mansour.

In the NRLW, three-time premiership winner Meg Ward has hung up the boots after an injury-plagued finish to her career while former Eel Christine Pauli and Dragon Kody House announced their retirements after the 2021 season.

The retiring and departing NRL class of 2022

  • Matt Dufty (Canterbury Bulldogs)
  • Chanel Harris-Tavita (Warriors)
  • Tex Hoy (Newcastle Knights)
  • Ryan James (Brisbane Broncos)
  • David Mead (Brisbane Broncos)
  • Josh McGuire (St George Illawarra Dragons)
  • Thomas Mikaele (Wests Tigers)
  • Kevin Naiqama (Sydney Roosters)
  • Tom Opacic (Parramatta Eels)
  • James Roberts (Wests Tigers)
  • Tyrone Roberts (Brisbane Broncos)
  • Sauaso Sue (Newcastle Knights)
  • Jorge Taufua (Manly Sea Eagles)
  • Siosiua Taukeiaho (Sydney Roosters)
  • Ash Taylor (Warriors)
  • Corey Thompson (Gold Coast Titans)
  • Aiden Tolman (Cronulla Sharks)
  • Paul Vaughan (Canterbury Bulldogs)
  • Sam Williams (Canberra Raiders)

Reflections and predictions: Kody House

The retiring NRLW class of 2022

  • Meg Ward (Brisbane Broncos)
  • Kody House (St George Illawarra Dragons)
  • Christine Pauli (Parramatta Eels)
Acknowledgement of Country

Queensland Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Platinum Partners

View All Partners