You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Tuaupiki caps off huge year with top Bears award

Taine Tuaupiki has been named Burleigh Bears player of the year at the annual Bears awards night.

The 23-year-old fullback was instrumental in guiding the Bears to the minor premiership in the Hostplus Cup this year.

Tuaupiki was named winner of the prestigious Petero Civoniceva Medal - Hostplus Cup’s Player of the Year - and also took out Rookie of the Year. His consistent form also saw him announced at the premier fullback in the Hostplus Cup Team of the Year.

Other Hostplus Cup awards went to Guy Hamilton who picked up Players' Player, Sam Coster was named best forward, while Kea Pere picked up the Coaches Award.

Sophie Buller picked up the best and fairest award for Burleigh's BMD Premiership team. 

Buller was one of several new recruits for the Bears this season and produced an outstanding season. Codi Dalley picked up the Coaches Award and the Players' Player was won by Ashleigh Quinlan.

David Wood picked up the Neville Rowland Memorial Award for Club Person of the Year, while Tristan Powell was named Ray McCarron Rookie of the Year.

Lochlyn Sheldon, Taine Tuaupiki and Tristan Powell. Photo: Captura Sport/Burleigh Bears
Lochlyn Sheldon, Taine Tuaupiki and Tristan Powell. Photo: Captura Sport/Burleigh Bears

Other best and fairest winners included Ben Kay (Colts), Lochlyn Sheldon (A Grade), Samson Halatau (Reserve Grade), Aston Bai (Under 20s) and Josiah Pahulu (Auswide Bank Mal Meninga Cup).

Full list of winners below.

Burleigh Bears 2022 awards 

Hostplus Cup

Best Forward - Sam Coster

Coaches Award - Kea Pere

Players' Player - Guy Hamilton (Brian Swaddling Memorial) 

Best and Fairest -Taine Tuaupiki

Petero Civoniceva Medal winner Taine Tuaupiki

BMD Premiership

Coaches Award - Codi Dalley

Players' Player - Ashleigh Quinlan

Best and Fairest - Sophie Buller

Neville Rowland Memorial Award – Club Person of the Year

David Wood

Ray McCarron Rookie Of The Year Award

Tristan Powell

Hastings Deering Colts 

Coaches Award - Jovahn Te Aroiti

Players' Player - Sam McIntyre

Best and Fairest - Ben Kay

Ben Kay. Photo: Captura Sport/Burleigh Bears
Ben Kay. Photo: Captura Sport/Burleigh Bears

Auswide Bank Mal Meninga Cup 

Coaches Award - Karauria Stokes             

Best and Fairest - Josiah Pahulu

Rugby League Gold Coast QTOP A Grade

Best Forward - Jayden Sharp

Coaches Award - Ryan Wescombe

Players' Player - Kurtis Rowe

Best and Fairest - Lochlyn Sheldon

Rugby League Gold Coast QTOP DLC Reserve Grade

Coaches Award - Brock Hughes

Players' Player - Trent Smith

Best and Fairest - Samson Halatau 

Rugby League Gold Coast QTOP Under 20s

Coaches Award - Harry Vousty

Players' Player - Luke Khan

Best and Fairest - Aston Bai

Cyril Connell Challenge 

Coaches Award - Jimi Pedlow

Best and Fairest - Sam Stephenson

Harvey Norman Under 19s

Coaches Award - Ebony Raftstrand-Smith

Best and Fairest - Dannii Perese

Acknowledgement of Country

Queensland Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Platinum Partners

View All Partners