You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Adrian Vowles Cup best and fairest, Dream Teams

Adrian Vowles Cup 2023 took hundreds of teen talents to Charleville for a two-day junior footy feast over the weekend.

Epic scenes of sportsmanship were the feature of the 10th edition of the carnival as some teams at times relied on their fellow clubs to offer their player to fill-in where needed.

The three finals on Saturday brought the teams to Charleville Showgrounds to cheer the combatants, who put on a fantastic show for the fans.

Central West Ringers, bringing together players from an area including Longreach, Blackall, Barcaldine, Winton, Alpha, Charleville and Roma won a closely fought Under 17 Girls final against Mt Isa, while Toowoomba Brothers scored in the dying seconds to claim the Under 14 Boys final against Emerald.

The Under 16 final featured two teams who played in the inaugural Adrian Vowles Cup - Central West and Caboolture - and it was Central West who prevailed with a golden try extra time win worthy of the milestone carnival.

A 13-player 'Dream Team' was named in each division following the carnival, while every team named a best-and-fairest.

See the list of all those celebrated below.

Dream Teams

Under 16 Boys

1. Col Finter (Mt Isa) 2. Hayden Nicholson (Toowoomba Brothers) 3. Ihaia Puonotaua (Redcliffe) 4. Jacob Close (Central West) 5. Darryl Gyemore (South Burnett) 6. Curtis Fernando (Roma Cities) 7. Conner Walsh (Red Bulls) 8. Sebastian Booth (Caboolture) 9. Billy Barron (Central West) 10. Cooper Dukes (Central West) 11. Ryley Wilson (St George) 12. Riley Brown (Toowoomba Brothers) 13. Eric Walt

Under 14 Boys

1. Kobe Oberhardt (Emerald) 2. Lane Cooper (Toowoomba Brothers) 3. Xavier Newton (Toowoomba Valleys) 4. Xavier Fing (Dalby) 5. Leroy Malone (Toowoomba Valleys) 6. Trae Tarei (Emerald) 7. Macen Palmer (Central West) 8. Anare Manner (Western Ringers) 9. Tyerell Lacey (St George) 10. Henry McMillan (Collegians) 11. Innes Nowlan (Collegians) 12. Jack Lewis (Dalby) 13. Brooklyn Campbell (Toowoomba Brothers)

Under 17 Girls

1. Jemmika Dahlstrom (St George) 2. Danya Green (Central West) 3. Taylor Horrobin (Dalby) 4. Karlie Falvey (Dalby) 5. Eva Reading (Dalby) 6. Phoebe Knight (Mt Isa) 7. Emmie Creevey (Central West) 8. Kya Garrett (Mt Isa) 9. Ella Lindsay (Dalby) 10. Abbey Cowley (Central West) 11. Sydnee Cleeland (Mt Isa) 12. Nicole Robertson (Dalby) 13. Jadee Denton (Central West)

Grand final winners

Under 16 Boys – Central West

Lincoln Coulton, Lachlan Dean, Jett O’Connor, Ryan Jackson, Hunter McCracken, Lachlan Moore, Jakobe Close, Diezel Richards, Billy Barron, Cooper Dukes, Ryan Hardie, Benjamin Bettiens, Riley Casey, Mitch Wilks, Declan Wilson, Cole Finter. Coach: Jeremy Barron. Manager: Scott Richards. First aid: Jo Winkleman

Under 14 Boys – Toowoomba Brothers

Lane Cooper, Cam Shuttleworth, Henry Goodman, Dean Blinco, Drew Shuttleworth, Callum James, Jed Ross, Noah Davies, Dean Robertson, Ryan Blinco, Tray Ryan, James Currie, Brooklyn Campbell (c), Chase Davies, Jaymon Pickering, Oliver Mortimer, Tyson Campbell, Nayte Davies, Zac Heinemann. Coach: Troy James. Team manager: Amanda James

Under 17 Girls – Western Ringers/Central West 

Sophie Beetson, Dayna Green, Hope Anderson, Charli Pender, Armanii Freeman, Tori Castles, Emmie Creevey, Emmerson Mitchell, Josie Wogand, Abbey Cowley, Brooke Lemon, Riley Pender, Jadee Denton, Tahlia Stewart, Bo Gatiera, Bianca Wharton. Coach: Wendy Clark. Team manager: Chantal Iker. League safe: Lachlan West, Emmy-Lou Everingham-Pott

Best & fairest awards

Under 14 Boys

Benderoo / Roma Saints: Sam Jenkins

Brothers Toowoomba: Lane Cooper

Carnarvon Cubs: Toby Day

Central West: Ryan Rowlands

Chinchilla: Coby McConville

Collegians: Aiden Byrne

Dalby: Jackson Domjahn

Emerald: Kobe Oberhardt

Highfields: Jett Nyguen

Mitchell: Rocky Smith

Mt Isa: Lochie McNamara

Pittsworth: Charlie O’Dempsey

Redcliffe: Ashton White

South Burnett: Jack Maudsley

St George: Tyrell Lacey

Stanley River: Anaru Ngawhare

Valleys: Xavier Newton

Western Ringers: Jack Davies

Under 16 Boys

Brothers Toowoomba: Hayden Nicholson

Caboolture: Sebastian Booth

Central West: Lachlan Moore

Chinchilla: Lawson Heyewen

Collegians: Ryan Bohm

Dalby: Riley Lankowski

Fassifern Maroon: Jacobi Warner

Fassifern White: Hayden Hines

Highfields: Zachary Woods

Mitchell: Harrison Russell

Mt Isa: Jias Johnson

Pittsworth: Aiden Bourke

Redcliffe: Ryan Smallhorn

Roma Cities: Curtis Fernando

South Burnett: Frankie Bligh

Souths Toowoomba: Fraser Trapp

St George: Clay Phillips (Mt Isa player who played with Mitchell all weekend)

Stanley River: Cohen Cochran

Red Bulls: Jackson Nolan

Under 17 Girls

Toowoomba Brothers:  Morgan Tyson

Central West Ringers: Armanii Freeman

Dalby: Shania Riley

Mt Isa: Kya Garrett

St George: Iesha Turnbull

Acknowledgement of Country

Queensland Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Platinum Partners

View All Partners