You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Queensland squads named for 2023 national championships

The Queensland Rugby League has today announced its two Under 19 squads that will contest the Women’s National Championships on the Gold Coast in May.

Queensland will be represented by the Rubys and Sapphires, with both playing groups to feature some of the state’s most talented prospects.

Rubys will be guided by Veronica White, while Chelsea Baker takes charge of the Sapphires team.

Both White and Baker have extensive playing and mentoring experience within Queensland’s pathways and programs.

They will work closely with Harvey Norman Queensland Maroons head coach and female pathways manager Tahnee Norris, who is excited about the depth of talent involved in both squads.

Players who perform consistently will enhance their chances of gaining selection in the Queensland Under 19 team to play New South Wales later this year.

The Rubys squad is primarily made up of aspirational players based in the south east, while the Sapphires group is locked and loaded with some of the state’s best regional athletes.

Both the Rubys and Sapphires squads will assemble in Brisbane in late April for a pre-championship camp.

The championships will be played at Burleigh from May 17-21.

Squad lists

Queensland Rubys

Player Club
Alyssa McCarthy Wynnum Manly Seagulls
Destiny Mino-Sinapati Wynnum Manly Seagulls
Ebony Raftstrand-Smith Canterbury Bulldogs
Emma Barnes Wynnum Manly Seagulls
Estanoa Faitala Brisbane Tigers
Helen Uitualagi Wynnum Manly Seagulls
Jacinta Carter Newcastle Knights
Kiarah Siauane Souths Logan Magpies
Lily Kolc Burleigh Bears
Livinia Kitai Souths Logan Magpies
Malaela Su'a Brisbane Tigers
Matekino Kahukoti-Gray Burleigh Bears
Mattisse Bettridge Burleigh Bears
Rilee Jorgensen Burleigh Bears
Shaylee Joseph Indigenous Roosters
Skyla Adams Indigenous Roosters
Tarleah Fisher-Pearson Brisbane Tigers
Tayla Sykes Norths Devils
Tavarna Papalii Indigenous Roosters
Trinity Veetutu Wynnum Manly Seagulls

Coach: Veronica White

Assistant coaches: Ana Fotu and Paul Nieuwenhuyzen

Queensland Sapphires

Player Club
Aerielle Hobbler Northern Pride
Alenna Whipp Central Queensland Capras
Dakota Taputoa Brisbane Tigers
Dmaris Setu Ipswich Jets
Emily Bella Mackay Cutters
Grace Gampino Norths Devils
Jaydah Tofae Indigenous Roosters
Jayde Herdegen Wynnum Manly Seagulls
Kate Ellem Sunshine Coast Falcons
Kayla Sheppard Mackay Cutters
Kirby Richardson Central Queensland Capras
Libby Suhra Mackay Cutters
Lily Peacock Mackay Cutters
Luca Howarth Central Queensland Capras
Lylla Williamson Townsville Blackhawks
Mackenzie Zeller Western Clydesdales
Montaya Hudson Brisbane Tigers
Paityne Johns Mackay Cutters
Prue Peters Wynnum Manly Seagulls
Relna Hosea Ipswich Jets

Coach: Chelsea Baker

Assistant coaches: Matt Sanders and Amanda Ohl

Acknowledgement of Country

Queensland Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Platinum Partners

View All Partners