You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Harvey Norman Queensland Maroons Game I squad named

The Queensland Rugby League has today announced the Harvey Norman Queensland Maroons squad for the opening game of the women’s State of Origin series.

The squad includes six players who took part in Saturday’s BMD Premiership grand final between the Burleigh Bears and Wynnum Manly Seagulls.

Bears trio Tazmin Gray, Sophie Holyman and Zahara Temara played key roles in the 24-10 win over a Seagulls team that featured newly-named 2023 Maroons representatives Emily Bass, Shaniah Power and Julia Robinson.

Maroons head coach Tahnee Norris, who will be supported by assistant coaches Nathan Cross and Brett O’Farrell this year, has been impressed with the talent on show in the BMD Premiership.

“We’ve picked in-form players on the back of a really strong BMD Premiership competition,” Norris said.

"This year’s competition has gone from strength to strength and we’ve seen a number of players force their way into the squad following consistent performances over the past few months.”

Holyman and Jillaroos representative Keilee Joseph are newcomers to the Maroons squad.

Media conference: Norris discusses Origin side

Romy Teitzel, Emma Manzelmann and China Polata are the other squad members who are now a step closer to representing Queensland for the first time.

All three have extensive experience within Queensland’s pathway programs, having been members of various senior and emerging squads.

The Maroons will enter camp at Royal Pines on Friday, May 26, to prepare for the opening game of the State of Origin series at CommBank Stadium on Thursday, June 1.

Harvey Norman Queensland Maroons squad

Name Club
Tarryn Aiken Central Coast Roosters
Emily Bass Wynnum Manly Seagulls
Ali Brigginshaw (C) Norths Devils
Destiny Brill Souths Logan Magpies
Shenae Ciesiolka  Norths Devils
Jessika Elliston Tweed Seagulls
Tazmin Gray Burleigh Bears
Sophie Holyman Burleigh Bears
Keilee Joseph  Central Coast Roosters
Emma Manzelmann Mackay Cutters
Shannon Mato Mackay Cutters
Evania Pelite Souths Logan Magpies
China Polata Mackay Cutters
Shaniah Power Wynnum Manly Seagulls
Julia Robinson Wynnum Manly Seagulls
Romy Teitzel Mackay Cutters
Zahara Temara Burleigh Bears
Tamika Upton Newcastle Knights


Acknowledgement of Country

Queensland Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Platinum Partners

View All Partners