You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Queensland Maroons Game I team confirmed

Queensland Rugby League can today confirm the Queensland Maroons team for Game I of the 2023 State of Origin series against the New South Wales Blues.

Fourteen players who represented the Maroons during last year’s 2-1 series victory have been selected in the 19-man squad for the Adelaide Oval clash on May 31.

After an outstanding start to the season with the Brisbane Broncos, front rower Thomas Flegler has earned an Origin recall and will play his first match for the Maroons since making his debut in the final game of the 2021 series.

Hamiso Tabuai-Fidow also starred while on Origin debut in that same match and The Dolphins flyer’s brilliant start to the season saw him nudge out seasoned Maroons campaigner Dane Gagai for a centre position.

David Fifita and Christian Welch are the other Maroons players returning to the Origin fold after taking no part in last year’s series.

Fifita will pack down in a new-look second row alongside Tom Gilbert.

The sole debutant for the Maroons is Reece Walsh, who won the race for the fullback position following his impressive form for the Broncos.

Walsh was a member of the Maroons’ extended squad last season and in 2021 he was selected for the second game of the series only to suffer a hamstring injury on match eve.

Maroons coach Billy Slater will discuss the Game I selections with media this morning.

Media conference: Maroons coach Billy Slater

Maroons team for Game I

Number Player Club
1. Reece Walsh Brisbane Broncos
2. Selwyn Cobbo Brisbane Broncos
3. Valentine Holmes North Queensland Cowboys
4. Hamiso Tabuai-Fidow The Dolphins
5. Murray Taulagi  North Queensland Cowboys
6. Cameron Munster Melbourne Storm
7. Daly Cherry-Evans (C) Manly Warringah Sea Eagles
8. Thomas Flegler Brisbane Broncos
9. Ben Hunt St George Illawarra Dragons
10. Lindsay Collins Sydney Roosters
11. Tom Gilbert The Dolphins
12. David Fifita Gold Coast Titans
13. Patrick Carrigan Brisbane Broncos
14. Harry Grant Melbourne Storm
15. Tino Fa’asuamaleaui Gold Coast Titans
16. Reuben Cotter North Queensland Cowboys
17. Jai Arrow South Sydney Rabbitohs
18. Tom Dearden  North Queensland Cowboys
19. Christian Welch Melbourne Storm



Acknowledgement of Country

Queensland Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Platinum Partners

View All Partners