You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
NRL announce nominees for 2023 NRL Dally M awards

The National Rugby League (NRL) has today announced the nominees for the 2023 NRL Dally M Team of the Year as well as several individual Dally M awards for the NRL Telstra Premiership.

The Dally M Awards recognise the game’s most outstanding performers from both the NRL Telstra Premiership and NRL Telstra Women’s Premiership each year, with this year’s awards to be presented on Wednesday, September 27 in Sydney.

Significant changes to the Dally M voting process for both the NRL and NRLW competitions were introduced for the 2023 season.

This season, two independent judges each gave out votes on a 3,2,1 basis for every game, meaning players were able to earn a maximum of six votes per game compared to three in previous years.

The decision to add in a second judge to assess each game in 2023 will increase the final total of points to players, but also the level of fairness in further removing potential variances that arise from a single judge voting on a game.

2022 Dally M NRL and NRLW teams of the year

Any player suspended for a total of two NRL regular season games becomes ineligible to claim any Dally M award, while a one-game suspension brings with it a deduction of six points this year (compared to a deduction of three points in past seasons). Players who become ineligible for awards due to suspension are still able to pick up points in subsequent games so as not to distort the voting process throughout the regular season.

However, players who are suspended for two games will be ineligible to collect any awards, deeming players such as Reece Walsh, Corey Horsburgh, Jacob Preston, Dale Finucane, Felise Kaufusi, Jeremy Marshall-King, Tino Fa’asuamaleaui, Jahrome Hughes, Scott Drinkwater, Valentine Holmes, Jeremiah Nanai, Reagan Campbell-Gillard, Jack de Belin, Joseph Suaali’i, Victor Radley, Jared Waerea-Hargreaves and Marata Niukore not available.

The NRL Dally M Team of the Year recognises the best player in each position across all rounds of the regular season. Judges vote on the best player in each position at regular intervals throughout the year with a further vote conducted at the end of the regular season.  

The player who polls the highest number of votes in each position is included in the Team of the Year, while players who finish in the top three of the overall Dally M Medal leaderboard receive their respective position in the Team of the Year if available.

2023 NRL Dally M Awards nominees

Award Nominees
Fullback of the Year James Tedesco (Roosters)
Dylan Edwards (Panthers)
Kalyn Ponga (Knights)
Winger of the Year
(two winners)
Dallin Watene-Zelezniak (Warriors)
Jamayne Isaako (Dolphins)
Brian To’o (Panthers)
Dominic Young (Knights)
Selwyn Cobbo (Broncos)
Ronaldo Mulitalo (Sharks)
Centre of the Year
(two winners)
Stephen Crichton (Panthers)
Bradman Best (Knights)
Kotoni Staggs (Broncos)
Campbell Graham (Rabbitohs)
Herbie Farnworth (Broncos)
Izack Tago (Panthers)
Five-Eighth of the Year Ezra Mam (Broncos)
Cameron Munster (Storm)
Cody Walker (Rabbitohs)
Halfback of the Year Nathan Cleary (Panthers)
Daly Cherry-Evans (Sea Eagles)
Shaun Johnson (Warriors)
Hooker of the Year Wayde Egan (Warriors)
Apisai Koroisau (Wests Tigers)
Harry Grant (Storm)
Prop of the Year 
(two winners)
Lindsay Collins (Roosters)
Payne Haas (Broncos)
James Fisher-Harris (Panthers)
Nelson Asofa-Solomona (Storm)
Jake Trbojevic (Sea Eagles)
Addin Fonua-Blake (Warriors)
Second Row of the Year
(two winners)
Liam Martin (Panthers)
Briton Nikora (Sharks)
Tyson Frizell (Knights)
Haumole Olakau'atu (Sea Eagles)
David Fifita (Titans)
Hudson Young (Raiders)
Lock of the Year Tohu Harris (Warriors)
Isaah Yeo (Panthers)
Patrick Carrigan (Broncos)
Coach of the Year Kevin Walters (Broncos)
Andrew Webster (Warriors)
Ivan Cleary (Panthers)
Captain of the Year Adam Reynolds (Broncos)
Tohu Harris (Warriors)
Isaah Yeo (Panthers)
Rookie of the Year Jahream Bula (Wests Tigers)
William Warbrick (Storm)
Sunia Turuva (Panthers)
Drinkwise Try of the Year Dominic Young (Knights)
Mathew Feagai (Dragons)
Sunia Turuva (Panthers)
YOUI Tackle of the Year Joseph Tapine (Raiders)
Haumole Olakau'atu (Sea Eagles)
Ezra Mam (Broncos)
Acknowledgement of Country

Queensland Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Platinum Partners

View All Partners