You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Kangaroos name team to face Samoa in Test opener

Head Coach Mal Meninga has named four debutants for the Gallagher Kangaroos’ opening match of the Pacific Championships against Samoa on Saturday, October 14.

Dylan Edwards (Kangaroos number 847), Hamiso Tabuai-Fidow (849), Kotoni Staggs (848) and Selwyn Cobbo (846) will all play their first match for the Kangaroos at Queensland Country Bank Stadium in Townsville.

The quartet feature in an exciting Kangaroos backline alongside captain James Tedesco and the experienced halves combination of Cameron Munster and Daly Cherry-Evans.

Meninga said the debutants thoroughly deserved their selection.

“The opportunity has come up for them to put the green and gold jersey on and I’ve got no doubt they’ll all play really well for their country,” Meninga said.

“You can tell from their actions that they’re excited about making their own mark at this level, while learning from some of the established players in the team. 

“They’re all great young men and talented players, and I’m confident you will see the best of them on Saturday.”

The Kangaroos have been preparing for their opening match of the Pacific Championships at Airlie Beach’s Whitsunday Sports Park, with hundreds of fans enjoying the opportunity to watch training and meet their heroes.

“We’ve been welcomed here with open arms by the community,” Meninga said.

“It’s just great to be around bush footy, where we have the opportunity to inspire the young boys and girls in this region.”

The Kangaroos will travel to Townsville on Thursday and will complete their preparations with a captain’s run training session on Friday.

Kangaroos squad to face Samoa

  1. James Tedesco (c)
  2. Dylan Edwards*
  3. Hamiso Tabuai-Fidow*
  4. Kotoni Staggs*
  5. Selwyn Cobbo*
  6. Cameron Munster
  7. Daly Cherry-Evans
  8. Payne Haas
  9. Ben Hunt
  10. Tino Fa'asuamaleaui
  11. Cameron Murray
  12. Liam Martin
  13. Isaah Yeo
  14. Harry Grant
  15. Lindsay Collins
  16. Pat Carrigan
  17. Reuben Cotter
  18. Nicho Hynes
  19. Jake Trbojevic

*Denotes Kangaroos debutant

Acknowledgement of Country

Queensland Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Platinum Partners

View All Partners