You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Maroons squad named for Origin Game I

Queensland Rugby League is pleased to announce the Queensland Maroons squad for Game I of the 2024 State of Origin series in Sydney on June 5.

The single debutant in the Maroons’ 17 is Hervey Bay Seagulls junior J’maine Hopgood, who has earned his first Origin cap after displaying strong form for the Parramatta Eels over several seasons.

Hopgood was part of the Maroons’ group last year and has featured in several Queensland under age representative teams.

The Game I extended squad for this year’s series opener includes Origin newcomers Brendan Piakura and Ezra Mam, who get their first taste of Camp Maroon following their consistent efforts with the Brisbane Broncos.


Consistency has also paved the way for the return of two players with Origin experience – Jaydn Su’A and Felise Kaufusi.

Su’A has earned his first Origin jersey under Slater, having played the most recent of his four games for the Maroons in Game I of the 2021 series.

Kaufusi, a mainstay of the Queensland forward pack between 2018 and 2022, has been named 18th man.

Slater will address the media this morning for the first time since announcing the 20-man squad with the media conference to be livestreamed at and the Queensland Maroons Facebook page.

Slater speaks after naming Game I squad


Queensland Maroons for Game I

Player Club
1. Reece Walsh Brisbane Broncos
2. Xavier Coates Melbourne Storm
3. Valentine Holmes North Queensland Cowboys
4. Hamiso Tabuai-Fidow The Dolphins
5. Murray Taulagi North Queensland Cowboys
6. Tom Dearden North Queensland Cowboys
7. Daly Cherry-Evans (C) Manly-Warringah Sea Eagles
8. Reuben Cotter North Queensland Cowboys
9. Ben Hunt St George Illawarra Dragons
10. Lindsay Collins Sydney Roosters
11. Jaydn Su'A  St George Illawarra Dragons
12. Jeremiah Nanai  North Queensland Cowboys
13. Patrick Carrigan Brisbane Broncos
14. Harry Grant Melbourne Storm
15. Moeaki Fotuaika Gold Coast Titans
16. J'maine Hopgood  Parramatta Eels
17. Selwyn Cobbo Brisbane Broncos
18. Felise Kaufusi The Dolphins
19. Brendan Piakura Brisbane Broncos
20. Ezra Mam Brisbane Broncos
Acknowledgement of Country

Queensland Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Platinum Partners

View All Partners