You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Queensland Maroons Game III squad

Queensland Maroons coach Billy Slater has today confirmed the squad for State of Origin Game III at Suncorp Stadium.

Dane Gagai and Kalyn Ponga will make their first appearances in this year’s series, adding experience to the Queensland line-up for the July 17 match.

Gagai, who was 18th man in Game II, will start at centre in his first game for the Maroons since the 2022 series decider that also featured Ponga.

Ponga has been named on the interchange bench after making his return from injury with Newcastle Knights yesterday.

Selwyn Cobbo and Valentine Holmes are the new wingers for the Maroons after Xavier Coates and Murray Taulagi were not considered for selection due to injury.

Trent Loiero is 18th man, while Brendan Piakura and Reed Mahoney are also part of the extended squad.

Game III will mark Ben Hunt’s 20th match for Queensland, earning him the prestigious FOGS Dick 'Tosser' Turner Medal.

Media conference: Billy Slater on Game III selections

Queensland Maroons Game III squad

Number Name Team
1. Reece Walsh Brisbane Broncos
2. Selwyn Cobbo Brisbane Broncos
3. Dane Gagai Newcastle Knights
4. Hamiso Tabuai-Fidow The Dolphins
5. Valentine Holmes North Queensland Cowboys
6. Tom Dearden  North Queensland Cowboys
7. Daly Cherry-Evans Manly Warringah Sea Eagles
8. Reuben Cotter North Queensland Cowboys
9. Ben Hunt St George Illawarra Dragons
10. Lindsay Collins Sydney Roosters
11. Kurt Capewell New Zealand Warriors
12. Jeremiah Nanai North Queensland Cowboys
13. Patrick Carrigan Brisbane Broncos
14. Harry Grant Melbourne Storm
15. Moeaki Fotuaika Gold Coast Titans
16. Felise Kaufusi The Dolphins
17. Kalyn Ponga Newcastle Knights
18. Trent Loiero Melbourne Storm
19. Brendan Piakura Brisbane Broncos
20. Reed Mahoney Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs
Acknowledgement of Country

Queensland Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Platinum Partners

View All Partners