You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
TWO Queensland women have been named as finalists in this years Harvey Norman Women in League Award, to be announced at the annual NRL One Community Awards.

World Cup winning Jillaroos captain and police investigator Karyn Murphy joins Central West Rugby League Secretary Charmain Acton as the Queensland representatives, with Yolande Morris (Darwin, NT), Connie Dallas (Jamberoo, NSW), Karen Sassine (Earlwood, NSW) and Sharon Sellers (Adelaide, SA) the other finalists for the prestigious award, which is presented to a woman who has shown outstanding support in the progression and opportunity for women in rugby league.

Karyn is retiring this year, but leaves a tremendous legacy for other female Rugby League players to aspire to, said Jillaroos Tour Leader Debbie Brewin.

She is a fantastic role model who has and will continue to do whatever it takes to promote women in the sport.

"Her contribution to advancing opportunities for women in rugby league is second to none and the team couldn't be more proud of her nomination for the Women in League Award. She is a truly deserving recipient."

The award will be announced at the seventh annual NRL One Community Awards on Monday, September 30, at Sydneys Town Hall, which is set to be an inspiring evening of celebration for the contributions made by rugby leagues unsung heroes including volunteers, grassroots clubs, teachers, students, and NRL players.

Every year we are blown away by the tireless contributions made by those in the grassroots Rugby League community, said NRL Interim Community, Culture and Diversity General Manager, Mr Mark deWeerd.

The efforts made by the 2013 finalists continue to inspire me and I couldnt be more proud that the NRL is able to highlight the significant role volunteers play in our game.

The One Community Awards has a prize pool of over $50,000 across eight awards with Harvey Norman providing $2,500 to the winner of the 2013 Women in League award.

Other award categories include the Ken Stephen Medal presented by Telstra, Holden National Volunteer of the Year, Telstra One Community Grassroots Club of the Year, AAMI Service to Refereeing, AAMI Service to the Community Award, National Teacher of the Year (Primary and Secondary School) and the Young Indigenous Learn Earn Legend! Award.

The 2013 Ken Stephen Medal finalists were announced earlier this month with club captains Michael Ennis, Terry Campese, Ben Creagh, Tim Mannah, Kurt Gidley and Nate Myles among the 15 nominated NRL players.

Earlier this month, Queenslander Lloyd Evans (Gold Coast) was nominated for the AAMI Service to Refereeing Award. You can read the full story on the NRL website here:

***Follow the NRL One Community Twitter feed @rlonecommunity and the official NRL Twitter feed @NRL, and like the NRL One Community Facebook page to keep up to date with all of the latest information.