You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

Souths Logan's Sam Gardel is in the Italy squad for this year's World Cup while Mathew Seamark from Wynnum Manly (main image) has again been selected for Wales

RUGBY Leagues World Cup tournament is only a few weeks away and years event is gearing up to be the most competitive yet will all nations naming strong squads to challenge for the trophy.

Rugby League World Cup Fixtures

While much of the attention has surrounded on predicting the fortunes of the big three in the Australian Kangaroos, New Zealand and England the 11 remaining teams will be hoping to give them a run for their money when they play in front of the UK crowds.

There will be a number of QRL and Intrust Super Cup players representing their countries of birth and heritage and it is set to be a memorable experience for all of them.

Perhaps the most well-known of the players who were part of the Intrust Super Cup competition this season is retiring Redcliffe Dolphin prop Petero Civoniceva; who will captain Fiji.

The Bati have a strong squad with brothers Ashton and Tariq Sims (who both had stints with the Mackay Cutters this season) expected to make an impact.

Italy, Samoa, the United States and Wales are the other nations to feature a heavy presence of QRL and Intrust Super Cup players with Souths Logan duo Sam Gardel and Ben Falcone and CQ Capras captain Gavin Hiscox joining the Prides Ryan Ghietti and Joel Riethmuller in the Azzurri squad.

A list of players who were part of the Intrust Super Cup and other QRL competitions is listed below.

The full line-ups of all competing nations can be found on the Rugby League World Cup website here:

Games will be televised on 7mate and keep an eye on for news from our players as they take part in this years World Cup which runs from October 26 to November 30.

QRL and Intrust Super Cup players:


Petero Civoniceva (c) (Redcliffe Dolphins)

Tariq Sims (North Queensland Cowboys / Mackay Cutters)

Ashton Sims (North Queensland Cowboys / Mackay Cutters)


Clint Greenshields (North Queensland Cowboys / Mackay Cutters)


Rory Kostjasyn (North Queensland Cowboys / Mackay Cutters)


Ben Falcone (Souths Logan Magpies)

Sam Gardel (Souths Logan Magpies)

Ryan Ghietti (Northern Pride)

Gavin Hiscox (Central Queensland Capras)

Mark Minichiello (Gold Coast Titans / Tweed Heads Seagulls)

Joel Riethmuller (North Queensland / Northern Pride)

Tim Maccan (Tweed Heads Seagulls)* (new inclusion October 15)


Ray Thompson (North Queensland Cowboys / Northern Pride)


Kalifa Faifai Loa (North Queensland Cowboys / Mackay Cutters)

Wayne Ulugia (North Queensland Cowboys / Northern Pride)

Dunamis Lui (Brisbane Broncos / Norths Devils)

Lama Tasi (Brisbane Broncos / Ipswich Jets)

Mark Ioane (Gold Coast Titans / Burleigh Bears)


Jason Taumalolo (North Queensland Cowboys / Mackay Cutters)

Mahe Fonua (Melbourne Storm / Easts Tigers)


Bureta Faraimo (Mackay Cutters)

Mike Garvey (Ipswich Jets)

Matt Petersen (Cudgen Hornets)

Tui Samoa (Redcliffe Dolphins)


Neil Budworth (Moranbah Miners)

James Geurtjens (Norths Devils)

Mathew Seamark (Wynnum Manly Seagulls)

Ian Webster (Central Queensland Capras)

Like the Rugby League World Cup on Facebook:

Follow the Rugby League World Cup on Twitter:
Acknowledgement of Country

Queensland Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Platinum Partners

View All Partners