You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

Who likes Thursday night footy?

The Central Queensland Capras do. But perhaps not as much as Gladstone fans, who were treated to a breathtaking display of rugby league from the Capras in their 26-18 victory over the Wynnum Manly Seagulls at Marley Brown Oval.

Languishing near the foot of the table with only a draw to their name, the Capras made their intentions clear in the opening exchanges with a spectacular try to livewire winger Marlon Doak in the right corner.

The Capras’ second try was slightly more conventional. This time it involved a line break from fullback Reece Baker and a 50m finish from big prop Peter Gallen, who skipped out of a tackle and strode away to extend their lead to 12-0.

The Seagulls went into the match without gun attacking weapon Jake Granville, who played for the Broncos on Friday night.

But the Gulls eventually found their rhythm, with a nice pass from Ben Cronin putting Mitchell Krause over in the corner.

The visiting team struck again through Mitchell Buckett to reduce the Capras’ half-time lead to 12-10.

Wynnum Manly would then go on to play from in front in the second half when Mitchell Frei ran a great line and powered his way over for his seventh try of the season.

But the Capras were able to regain the ascendancy when Ryan Hiscox produced a neat short pass for Duncan Paia’Aua who showed his class with a top finish.

On the back of a bustling run from giant Capras interchange forward Andrew Dale, Capras five-eighth Mark Johnstone sent Marco Delapena into the clear.

Delapena did the rest with yet another superb finish to put the match out of the Seagulls’ reach.

CQ CAPRAS 26 (Marlon Doak, Marco Delapena, Duncan Paia’Aua, Peter Gallen tries; Duncan Paia’Aua 5 goals) def WYNNUM MANLY SEAGULLS 18 (Peter Gubb, Mitchell Buckett, Mitchell Krause, Mitchell Frei tries; Matt Seamark goal) at Marley Brown Oval, Gladstone.

Final teams:

CQ Capras: 1. Reece Baker 2. Marlon Doak 3. Marco Delapena 4. Smith Samau 5. Rhys Williams 6. Mark Johnstone 7. Duncan Paia’Aua 8. Arlin Paki 9. Tom McKenzie 10. Peter Gallen 19. Mitch Zornig 12. Guy Williams 13. Gavin Hiscox (c) 14. Theeran Pearson 16. John Clayton 17. Matt Mizzi 21. Andrew Dale

Wynnum Manly Seagulls: 1. Daniel Ogden 2. Peter Gubb 3. Mitchell Buckett 4. Jason Moon 5. Mitchell Krause 6. Ben Cronin 7. Matt Seamark 8. Ben Shea 9. Mitchell Moore 10. Tim Natusch (c) 11. Saia Makisi 12. John Te Reo 13. Mitchell Frei 14. Graham Clark 15. Stephen Coombe 16. Tanu Wulf 17. Dylan Smith