You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

The 2006 Maroons team celebrates

Fans are invited to celebrate Queensland’s eight-straight series wins at next Wednesday’s third Origin match, with the QRL today finalising its plans to honour the remarkable achievements of the record-breaking playing group.

Former players who represented Queensland from 2006 to 2013 will be guests at Suncorp Stadium for the July 9 match where they will be formally acknowledged at half-time.

They will then form a guard of honour when the current Maroons enter the field for the second half.

“It’s an important part of our program and culture that we recognise those that have gone before us,” Queensland Maroons coach Mal Meninga said today.

“The players who are not playing in our team at the moment have certainly made fantastic contributions to our success over the last eight years and they need to be acknowledged for that.

“It’s great that the game and the Queensland Rugby League have seen fit to do it in Game 3. I think it adds to the occasion and I know the team will appreciate the players being around.”

The Maroons are now preparing for a ‘new beginning’ – with Meninga’s primary focus to “play well” next Wednesday night.

In total, 49 players represented Queensland in the eight series victories which started when Darren Lockyer led the Maroons to a come-from-behind win in the deciding match of the 2006 series.

Players like Clinton Schifcofske, Rhys Wesser, Adam Mogg and Josh Hannay were part of that successful team and can’t wait to be at Suncorp Stadium next Wednesday night.

Hannay, who is now coaching the Souths Logan Magpies in the Intrust Super Cup, said he was extremely proud to be part of the celebrations.

“I’m very grateful to be recognised,” he said.

“To be fair, there’s certainly a number of guys who have made enormous contributions over the eight years.

“While mine was small, I’m certainly proud to have played a part.”

Hannay still gets excited when he talks about the late tries scored by Brent Tate and Darren Lockyer in Queensland’s memorable 16-14 Game 3 win in ’06. 

“It was probably looking quite dire there when we were down by 10 with 10 or so minutes to go before Tatey got that try to get us back into it,” Hannay recalled.

Unforgettable moments like these will feature in video highlights on the big screen next Wednesday night.

They will also be spoken about on match eve when the ex-Maroons enjoy a private dinner with the current Queensland team and coaching staff.

Tickets are still available for Game 3 at Suncorp Stadium through Ticketek

After the July 9 match, Queensland will not host an Origin until Game 3 of the 2015 series, meaning this is the last chance for fans to cheer on the Maroons at home for possibly 12 months.

The Honour Roll

Origin players who represented Queensland during the eight series wins from 2006 to 2013 - (Name and Player Number)

Matt Ballin - 170

Steven Bell - 153

Shaun Berrigan - 129

Matt Bowen - 138

Darius Boyd - 166

Dane Carlaw - 127

Tonie Carroll - 110

Daly Cherry-Evans - 176

Petero Civoniceva - 120

Neville Costigan - 162

Michael Crocker- 136

Cooper Cronk - 168

Chris Flannery - 133

Israel Folau - 164

Matt Gillett - 173

Ben Hannant - 165

Josh Hannay - 139

Ashley Harrison - 151

Justin Hodges - 130

Karmichael Hunt - 159

Greg Inglis - 152

Dallas Johnson -156

Antonio Kaufusi - 163

Jacob Lillyman - 161

Darren Lockyer - 104

PJ Marsh - 131

Chris McQueen - 175

Adam Mogg - 160

Nate Myles - 158

Dane Nielsen - 171

Josh Papalii - 177

Corey Parker - 146

Steve Price - 108

Scott Prince - 143

Clinton Schifcofske - 128

Matt Scott - 155

David Shillington - 167

Billy Slater - 142

Cameron Smith - 140

David Stagg - 154

Brent Tate - 134

Dave Taylor - 169

Ben Te'o - 174

Sam Thaiday - 157

Johnathan Thurston - 148

Willie Tonga - 145

Carl Webb - 124

Rhys Wesser- 141

Jharal Yow Yeh - 172