You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
The Souths Logan Women defeated the Beerwah Bulldogs 26-12 in the 2014 Div 1 Brisbane and District Women's Rugby League grand final. PHOTO: CHARLES KNIGHT SMP IMAGES

THE experienced Souths Logan team suffered a scare before eventually overcoming a tenacious Beerwah Bulldogs outfit 26-12 to claim this year’s Brisbane and District Women’s Rugby League Division 1 premiership.

The two sides had already played in a highly entertaining major semi-final only weeks earlier – so expectations were high for another classic match.

They didn’t disappoint, with the Beerwah team boosted by enthusiasm going out to an early lead with centre Michaela Peck showing great footwork to step away from defenders and over to score.

However, the defending premiers hit back almost immediately, with this year’s Women’s Rep Player of the Year and eventual player of the match Renae Kunst crashing over for a try.

Each side scored one more try apiece in the half (a double to Peck and one to Rookie of the Year Casey Karklis) – but with Bulldogs half Courtney Lockwood able to convert both tries; it saw the Beerwah side head to the halftime break with 12-10 lead.

After the break however, the experience of the Souths Logan told the tale – with a number of players – including their considerable Jillaroos contingent of Kunst, skipper Karyn Murphy, Heather Ballinger, Ali Brigginshaw and Tarah Westera turning it up a gear.

Prop Steph Hancock especially went to another level, and proved difficult to contain for the Bulldogs side.

In the second half, the Magpies were able to shut down all of the Beerwah attack to keep them scoreless, while both Brigginshaw (twice) and Ballinger crossed to put the victory beyond doubt.

*Earlier in the day, Burpengary claimed the silverware in Division 2 with their 32-24 win over competition newcomers the Toowoomba Fillies.

The Fillies had claimed the minor premiership and also defeated the Burpengary side 30-28 in their major semi-final.

On Saturday however, the northern Brisbane side were able to turn that result around in an entertaining match that saw them post six tries to five in another close encounter.

Division 1 grand final – Saturday, September 13:

Souths Logan 26 (Ali Brigginshaw 2, Casey Karklis, Heather Ballinger, Renae Kunst tries; Ali Brigginshaw 3 goals) def Beerwah 12 (Michaela Peck 2 tries, Courtney Lockwood 2 goals) at Pizzey Park

Player of Grand Final: Renae Kunst (Souths Logan)


Division 2 grand final:

Burpengary 32 (Dana Kane 2, Renee Binnie, Jessica Polglase, Tyleisha Dunn, Jasinta Kettles tries; Ashleigh Peasley 4 goals) def Toowoomba Fillies 24 (Taylor Stevens, Zella Duncan, Vassa Hunter, Helen Malone, Wariba Neliman tries; Taylor Stevens 2 goals) at Pizzey Park

Player of Grand Final: Jessica Polglase (Burpengary)

The match day programme and team lists from the day can be downloaded HERE.


End of Season Award winners:

The following end of season awards were also announced on the day:

Division 1

Top Points Scorer: Ali Brigginshaw (Souths Logan) 198 points
Top Try Scorer: Kellye Hodges (Carina) 20 tries
Rookie of the Year: Casey Karklis (Souths Logan)

Division 2

Top Points Scorer: Kirianna Nukunuku (Waterford) 116 points
Top Try Scorer: Dana Kane (Burpengary) 21 tries
Rookie of the Year: Renee Binnie (Burpengary)

Acknowledgement of Country

Queensland Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Platinum Partners

View All Partners