You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

An imposing performance from playmaker Luke Capewell helped steer the Redcliffe Dolphins to a sizable victory over Central Queensland yesterday.

In shades of the form that saw him claim the Courier Mail Best and Fairest Award in 2012, Capewell had a hand in several Dolphins’ tries in their 68-16 victory.

The 26-year-old finished with a try and 10 goals for a personal haul of 24 points in front of his home crowd.

After a sluggish start to the season, Redcliffe have now won three in row and sit just two points adrift of Easts in sixth position.

Capewell said the club took confidence from their 19-12 win away from home against the Tigers the week prior.

“That’s what we’ve been working towards at the club … we’ve been putting in the hard work at training and it’s starting to show for us,” he said after the match.

The Capras opened the scoring through Garrett Field, but found themselves trailing 26-6 at the break with Redcliffe winger Curtis Johnston claiming a first half hat-trick.

The Dolphins didn’t take their foot off the accelerator, crossing a further nine times in a dominant second half.

Former Sydney Roosters backrower Anthony Cherrington also kept the Dolphin Oval scoreboard attendant busy, picking up a double in the 14-try result.  

The loss was a bitter pill to swallow for Central Queensland, who suffered narrow losses to Tweed Heads (Round 8) and Norths (Round 9) before coming up against Wynnum Manly and a resurgent Redcliffe in the past fortnight.

Their last win came against Burleigh in the opening week of the competition.

Redcliffe’s next opponent is Wynnum Manly this Sunday, while the Capras meet Sunshine Coast at Brown Park on Saturday night.

REDCLIFFE DOLPHINS 68 (Curtis Johnston 3, Anthony Cherrington 2, Josh Beehag, Joe Bradley, Josh Rudolph, Luke Capewell, Jon Green, Darcy Etrich, Harley Aiono tries; Luke Capewell 10 goals) def CQ CAPRAS 16 (Jake Ainsworth, Jacob Gagai, Garrett Field tries; Matt Minto, Ian Webster goals) at Dolphin Oval.

Final Teams

Redcliffe Dolphins: 1. Josh Beehag 2. Joe Bradley 3. Tristan Lumley 4. Josh Rudolph 5. Curtis Johnston 6. John Brady 7. Luke Capewell (c) 22. Tom Geraghty 9. Hayden Hansen 10. Jon Green 11. Josh Benjamin 12. Anthony Cherrington 13. Trent Richardson 14. Darcy Etrich 15. Tyson Cleal 16. Harley Aiono 17. Taylor Brown

CQ Capras: 1. Javarn White 19. Jake Ainsworth 3. Jacob Gagai 5. Clinton Mooney 6. Matt Minto 4. Ian Webster 8. Gerard Tema 9. Josh Mitchell 10. Gavin Hiscox 11. Rajan Opetaia-Halls 12. Guy Williams (c) 13. Garret Field 14. Aaron Watson 15. Dean McAdam 16. Corbyn Kilday 17. Tyson White 20. Dan Randall