You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

Innisfail Leprechauns continued their resurgence with a hard-fought 16-14 win over Ivanhoe Knights in Round 10 of the David McCoy Homes Cairns Key Real Estate Cairns District Rugby League A Grade competition on the weekend.

In a high-quality encounter, Ty Williams’ men edged the Knights after a tense, physical battle at Smithfield Sporting Complex.

The Leprechauns, last season’s beaten Grand Finalist, scored tries through Rob Haren, Rod Jensen and Fred Koraba, while Ivanhoes also scored three tries, with the goalkicking of Innisfail’s Matt Healy proving the difference between the sides.

Innisfail will now go into their Cassowary Coast derby against table-topping Tully Tigers this weekend in confident mood after two straight wins lifted them to fourth on the ladder, while Ivanhoes slipped to sixth.

Tully remain top of the ladder after a convincing 38-12 victory at Mareeba Gladiators, their fifth straight triumph.

Tigers coach Leon Hallie told The Cairns Post: “We knew we’d be in for a bit of a battle because they are tough at home.

“We just wore them out. We always go pretty hard in pre-season because I think you win half your games in the first round just from fitness.”

Tully hooker Aaron Jolley was named LD Total Cairns Player of the Round for the second time this season for his outstanding display (one try, five goals).

Southern Suburbs cemented third spot with a battling 26-16 win over Mossman-Port Douglas Sharks at Mossman Showgrounds.

The visitors outscored the Sharks five tries to three, with Raji Hari, Boshay Satrick, Richard Joinbee, Aidan Day and Brent Oosen the tryscorers.

Cairns Brothers almost let a 26-6 lead slip at fellow high-flyers Edmonton before holding on to win 26-22 at Petersen Park.

Brothers surged into the lead thanks to another two tries to winger Broski Emery-Hunia, and four-pointers to Ben Fitzpatrick, Sonny Rai and Joel Riethmuller, before the Storm hit back.

Yarrabah moved up to seventh after a thrilling 34-30 victory over Kangaroos at Jilara Oval, a result which leaves dual premiers Kangaroos in desperate trouble at the foot of the ladder with just two wins to their name in 2015.



Innisfail Leprechauns 16 (Haren, Jensen, Koraba tries; Healy 2 goals) def Ivanhoe Knights 14 (Mackay 2, Pye tries; J. Verney goal) at Smithfield Sporting Complex.


Tully Tigers 38 (Savage 2, Kapea 2, Stone, Rankin, Jolley tries; Jolley 5 goals) def Mareeba Gladiators 12 (Walker 2, Starmer tries) at Davies Park, Mareeba.

Southern Suburbs 26 (Hari, Satrick, Joinbee, Day, B. Oosen tries; Chinfat 3 goals) def Mossman-Port Douglas Sharks 16 (Tuccandigee, Amber, Zammataro tries; Cobb 2 goals) at Mossman Showgrounds.


Yarrabah Seahawks 34 (Kynuna 2, Bann, Mudu, B. Murgha, Dabah, Thomas tries; B. Murgha 2, Dabah goals) def Cairns Kangaroos 30 (Mene 3, T. Stephen, White, Savage tries; Pau 3 goals) at Jilara Oval, Yarrabah.

Cairns Brothers 26 (Emery-Hunia 2, Fitzpatrick, Rai, Riethmuller tries; Kelly 3 goals) def Edmonton Storm 22 (Kyles, Harrison, Tatipata tries; Ambrym 2 goals) at Petersen Park, Edmonton.

Atherton Roosters – BYE

Acknowledgement of Country

Queensland Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Platinum Partners

View All Partners