You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

Kirwan State High School are the 2015 GIO Schoolboy Cup champions after posting a 28-10 win over Patrician Brothers Blacktown at Pepper Stadium yesterday.

In a fast and physical game, Kirwan were able to emerge winners despite trailing early, in what was the 40th year of the Schoolboy competition.

Patrician Brothers, who were competing in their fourth consecutive final were quickly on the attack after an early penalty.

After back-to-back sets on Kirwans’ line, the Patrician boys spread the ball wide to find winger Mose Feilo who planted the ball in the corner.

Kirwan responded in positive fashion with strong carries allowing for a set in the attacking half and center. Enari Tuala took it upon himself to get outside the defence with a darting run to draw the scores level.

Ill-discipline allowed Kirwan other shot at Patrician Brothers line and it was Tuala who again took it upon himself to slice through would-be defenders to give his side a 10-4 lead at halftime.

From the start of the second half, Kirwan were in control. An early penalty allowed them a chance which they could not pass up and fast hands out to speedster AJ Willis saw them extend the lead to 10 points.

Almost immediately, Kirwan were again probing the Patrician line and Willis again reaped the benefits, touching down for his second try in five minutes to make it 18-4.

Kirwan could smell victory in the air and when five-eighth Julian Christian stepped his way through to go over next to the posts, victory was assured.

With score at 22-4, a fired up Kirwan were still looking to chance their arm and Christian again stepped up to tear through Patrician Brothers. He nabbed his second try by following a chip-chase to complete his five-star performance.

As the fulltime siren sounded, Patrician Brothers captain Reed Izzard showed exactly why he will be missed next season when he barged his way over to finish the match at 28-10.

Emotional celebrations followed for an ecstatic Kirwan, who after the long trip from Townsville were able to hoist the trophy for the first time in their school’s history.

Peter Sterling was on hand to present both teams with their medals as well as awarding Julian Christian with the Peter Sterling Medal for Player of the Year.

Kirwan State High School 28 (E. Tuala 2, J. Christian 2, A. Willis 2 tries; M. Hudson 2 goals) def Patrician Brothers Blacktown 10 (M. Feilo, R. Izzard tries; J. Luai goal)