You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

The two-Test series between the Australian Schoolboys and New Zealand Under 18 sides kicks-off on Sunday at Suncorp Stadium as part of Intrust Super Cup grand final day.

Download the First Test teams here

The international exchanges between Australian Schoolboys and New Zealand 18 Years teams dates back to 1981, when a two-Test series was held in Australia. The Australians, including Ben Elias, Brett Gale and Ricky Walford, won the series 2-0.

Test series have been played regularly since, with the most recent played in 2013. That year, the Australian team to play New Zealand included names such as Curtis Sironen, Kane Elgey and a front row rotation of David Klemmer, Jake Trbojevic, Lloyd Perrett and Junior Paulo.

In a sign of the competitive nature between to competing nations, most two-Test series in recent times have finished in 1-1 draws. This includes 2005, the most recent time the Kiwis visited Australian shores.

In the first Test in Melbourne, the Australians led by Mitchell Pearce, Michael Jennings, David Taylor and Darius Boyd won easily, 42-24. In the return leg at Wynnum though, Greg Eastwood and Issac Luke couldn’t do a thing wrong and New Zealand won 46-8.

This year’s Australian team was selected on performances at the Australian Schoolboys Championships in Wollongong in June.

Seven players were in the winning New South Wales Combined High Schools squad, while three were in the Cronulla team that won the national club 18 Years title this year.

The New Zealand Under 18 side is selected from club football, although a number of players do also play school league and have also featured in the New Zealand Secondary Schools team.

The QRL will live stream the First Test: QRL Live Stream - Aus Schoolboys v NZ Under 18s Test

*The Second Test will be played at Wynnum Manly’s BMD Kougari Oval on Thursday, October 1 at 6.30pm.