You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
MATT PURCELL (IPSWICH JETS) - PHOTO: SMP IMAGES.COM / QRL MEDIA - 15th March 2015, Action from the Queensland Rugby League (QRL) Intrust Trust Super Cup round 2 clash played at North Ipswich Reserve between the Ipswich Jets V Townsville Blackhawks. The Ipswich Jets ran out winners over the Blackhawks. Photo Credit must read ( PHOTO: SMP IMAGES / QRL MEDIA ).


* This is the third game between the two sides – they have won one each. The teams have played once in South-East Qld at North Ipswich with Ipswich winning that game.

* Both teams have won five games in a row coming into the grand final. Ipswich have achieved this twice previously this year but lost the 6th game on both occasions.

* There have been nine different premiers in 11 years – only Wynnum, (2011 and 2012) and Pride (2010 and 2014) have won more than one in that time. This year’s premiers will be the 10th different premier in 12 years.

* Last year Northern Pride’s win was the first time the minor premiers have won the competition since the Young Guns in 2005.

* Five of the comp’s top eight try scorers (including finals) will be playing in the GF – Zac Santo (Blackhawks -30), Marmin Barba (Ipswich -29), Carlin Anderson (Ipswich -18), Matt Parcell (Ipswich -17) and Michael Parker-Walshe (Blackhawks -17). The all-time season record for tries is 34 by Daniel Kennedy in 2004.


* The Blackhawks are the first new team to be minor premiers in their first year in the competition.

* The Blackhawks are only the second new team to reach a grand final in their first year in the competition behind the Sunshine Coast who won the competition in 2009 after finishing the regular season in fourth spot.

* Three Blackhawk players have previously played in a Cup decider – Tom Humble who played in the Northern Pride’s 2009 loss to Sunshine Coast (in same team as Rod Griffin), Anthony Mitchell who was Duncan Hall medallist in Mackay Cutters 2013 win over Easts, and Ricky Thorby (who has been named as 18th man) played in Pride’s grand final win last year.

* Townsville finished this year with the fourth best ever regular season results in Cup history – only Tweed (2011), Toowoomba (2001) and Redcliffe (2000) were better. They lost three games, two by a converted try or less – Ipswich’s 36-24 win in Ipswich in Round 2 was Townsville’s biggest loss of the year.

* No Townsville players have played more than 100 Cup games with Noel Underwood (87) and Lorenzo Ma’afu (83) the highest.

* The last time a Townsville based team made the grand final was the Young Guns, who won the competition in 2005. Current Cowboys Gavin Cooper, Matt Scott and Scott Bolton played in that Grand Final team.


* This is the Walkers’ 125th game as coach, in their 5th full season – the most ever to reach a Cup grand final. They have won 73 games, drawn seven and lost 44. The Walkers record of taking a team to the finals five times in succession is second only to Rick Stone who took the Burleigh Bears to the finals seven times in succession from 1999 to 2005.

* Ipswich are one of only three remaining foundation clubs (1996) not to have won a premiership – Central and Easts are the other two.

* This is Ipswich’s third Cup grand final, drawing level with Northern Pride – Redcliffe have played 10, with Burleigh, Easts and Toowoomba having played four each. Ipswich lost the 2002 decider to Redcliffe 34-10 at Dolphin and the 2008 Decider to Souths-Logan 24-18 at North Ipswich.

* Kurtis Lingwoodock is the only Jets player remaining from their 2008 grand final loss. He also played in Wynnum’s premiership win in 2011.

* Rod Griffin becomes the first player to play a grand final for three different clubs. He played for the Pride in their 2009 loss and 2010 win (scoring a try) and Tweed in their 2011 loss.

* Five Ipswich players have played more than 100 Queensland / Intrust Super Cup Cup games – Rod Griffin (153 games) has the most (for Wynnum, Pride, Tweed and Ipswich). The other four are Keiron Lander (140), Dane Phillips (126), Kurtis Lingwoodock (117), and Sam Martin (104).


* Clayton Sharpe, in his 193rd Cup game, the most by a Cup referee, referees his fifth Cup decider equalling Tony Maksoud’s record, and is the first to referee 4 in a row. They are the only two to referee more than two Cup grand finals. Sharpe also refereed the 2009, 2012, 2013 and 2014 games.