You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

Aaron Rockley and Brendon Gibb have capped memorable seasons as joint winners of the Wynnum Manly Leagues Club Player of the Year award at the Seagulls’ Awards night on Friday evening.

Rockley and Gibb were outstanding all season long for the Seagulls and head coach Jon Buchanan was full of praise for the two forwards.

“Gibb was enormous for us in his first year at the club and he really lifted our forward pack. He brought so much effort to our footy side each week, be it a tough carry running in behind the ruck or flying out of the line in ‘D’. He does everything at 100%.

“Rockley was much the same, such a tough footballer who has a presence in the middle of the park. He led our go-forward this year and has developed into one of the top front rowers in the competition.

“The pair were big reasons for our success this year and we are looking forward to more good things from them in 2016.”

In addition to his Courier Mail Medal for Intrust Super Cup Player of the Year, Patrick Templeman also collected the Anthony Schweitzer Memorial Award for the fan favourite.

Wynnum Manly’s much heralded forward prowess was evident in nine out of the 11 team award winners across the three senior grades were middle forwards.

The 2015 Wynnum Manly Seagulls award winners

Intrust Super Cup

Wynnum Manly Leagues Club Player of the Year – Aaron Rockley and Brendon Gibb
BMD Players’ Player of the Year – Peter Gubb, Brendon Gibb and David Stagg
Courier Mail Medal Winner, Intrust Super Cup Player of the Year – Patrick Templeman
Intrust Super Cup Rookie of the Year – Aaron Rockley
Anthony Schweitzer Memorial Award, Supporters Award – Patrick Templeman
Spotless Club Championship – Wynnum Manly Seagulls

Brisbane Rugby League

BRL Player of the Year – Brad Mana
BRL Players’ Player – Stephen Coombe

FOGS Colts

FOGS Colts Player of the Year – Rhys Melville
FOGS Colts Players’ Player – Braydon Mitchell, Lachlan Barr and Sam Gee

Special awards

Arch Geary Award, Clubman of the Year – Kevin Creese and Rob Wells
Trevor Neibling Shield, Best Junior to Senior – Will Hanley