You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

The NRL and QRL would like to congratulate eight rugby league identities who were awarded Australia Day Honours this week.

John Farragher, Stephen Hood, Henry Morris, Dr Michael Tierney and Douglas Wintin were all given OAMs for services to rugby league.

Former Australian Rugby League Chairman John Chalk was awarded an AM for services to Rugby League as an administrator, alongside former NRL Chief Executive David Gallop, for services to sports administration. 

Michael "Mick" Veivers was also awarded an AM, for services to sport particularly rugby league.

ARLC Chairman John Grant said all were worthy recipients of Australia Day Honours, having collectively served Rugby League for decades.

"These awards recognise the work that these outstanding members of the rugby league community have done over many years and the leadership they showed in their respective fields," Mr Grant said.

"They should all be proud of their achievements and we are certainly proud they have all been such a significant part of our game."

Dr Tierney has been Chairman of the Brisbane Second Division Rugby league and has been a strong advocate for women's rugby league. 

Mr Wintin has been a referee and official for more than 50 years.

Mr Farragher, who suffered a severe spinal injury and was left a quadriplegic while playing for Penrith in 1978, has given enormous service to rugby league as well as the Penrith community.

Mr Hood has served rugby league tirelessly as a St George junior rugby league coach and representative coach and selector, while Mr Morris has given enormous service to the South Sydney Juniors.

Not only is Mr Chalk a former ARL Chairman, he has also served Balmain, Wests Tigers, the NSWRL and Men of League tirelessly over more than half a century.

Mr Gallop was Chief Executive of the NRL for 10 years, and is now Chief Executive of Football Federation Australia, while he has also been recognised for his work on the board of the Australian Sports Commission.

"Mick" Veivers had a distinguished career both in rugby league and politics, having represented both Queensland and Australia.

Australia Day Honours

John Farragher - for services to rugby league and the community of Penrith
Stephen Hood - for services to rugby league
Henry Morris - for services to rugby league
Dr Michael Tierney - for services to rugby league
Douglas Wintin - for services to rugby league

John Chalk - for services to rugby league as an administrator
David Gallop - for services to sports administration
Michael (Mick) Veivers - for services to sport particularly rugby league

*This first appeared on as Australia Day Honours list

Acknowledgement of Country

Queensland Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Platinum Partners

View All Partners