You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Jharal yow Yeh celebrates his try : ARL Rugby League VB Anzac Test Match 2011, Australia v New Zealand at Skilled Park Stadium, Friday May 6th 2011. Digital image by Charels Knight

Two Queensland Origin greats will kick-start their coaching careers when the University Rugby League Queensland (URLQ) competition begins with a triple header on Anzac Day.

At Bishop Park, former Broncos captain Justin Hodges and his good mate Jharal Yow Yeh will send out the Australian Catholic University team for their first game of the year.

The pair have agreed to co-coach ACU this season in the 10-round competition that begins on Monday when the Queensland University of Technology Trouts host the Griffith University Dragons from 3pm.

The University of Queensland Hounds meet the Griffith University Gold Coast Panthers at 4.15pm.

Then the hard work will start for Hodges and Yow Yeh, as their ACU boys take on the three-time defending premiers, Griffith University Logan Redbacks, from 5.30pm.

ACU only returned to the URLQ competition last season and made some big improvements towards the end of the year.

They beat the GUGC Panthers late in the season to register their first win.

But expectations are higher for ACU in 2016, with the star coaching line-up drawing more than 40 players to register.

The URLQ will run five rounds before the mid-year break, during which a representative team will be chosen for an Interstate challenge.

That side, known as the Queensland Universities Residents team, will take on the NSW Universities Residents in a one-off match at Coffs Harbour on July 16.

Only players from the URLQ competition are eligible.

The Queensland Universities Residents side defeated NSW last time they met in 2014, and last July produced a boilover by overcoming the touring Great Britain Armed Forces outfit.

The elite Queensland Universities team, chosen from all students across the State, will play NSW Universities at the home of the Easts Tigers, Suzuki Stadium, on Saturday October 8.

An Australian Universities squad to contest the 2017 Student World Cup in July next year will be chosen from that match.

To view the URLQ 2016 competition draw, click here: