You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

The 18 Years Queensland Secondary State School team was selected after the Queensland School Sport 16-18 Years Rugby League Championships at Pizzey Park, Miami, at the Gold Coast on May 19-22.

Northern finished on top of the 12-team championship ladder.

Payne Haas of Keebra Park State High School was named player of the championship.


2016 Queensland Secondary Schools Rugby League 18 Years  
Name Region School
Nathan Barrett Northern 11 Kirwan SHS
Jayden Bishop Sunshine Coast 13 Australian Trade College
Eddie Blacker Met North 8 Wavell SHS
Julian Christian Northern 6 Kirwan SHS
Isaiah Conway Northern 12 Kirwan SHS
Duarne Dempsey Northern Kirwan SHS
Thomas Flegler Peninsula 8 Tully SHS
Sean Garner South Coast 12 Palm Beach Currumbin SHS
Payne Haas South Coast 10 Keebra Park
Kalemb Hart Met North 1 Wavell SHS
Tom Kenny Northern 3 Ignatius Park College
Reihana Marsh South Coast 5 Coombabah SHS
Thomas Mikaele South Coast 8 Keebra Park SHS
Ronaldo Mulitalo Met West 6 Ipswich SHS
Sam Murphy Capricornia 13 The Cathedral College, Rockhampton
Kees Nicholson South Coast 1 Keebra Park SHS
Liam Pakau South Coast 3 Keebra Park SHS
Kyle Paterson Met North 9 Wavell SHS
Tyson Smoothy Sunshine Coast 9 Mountain Creek SHS
Enari Tuala Northern 4 Kirwan SHS
Michael Kennedy Coach Wavell SHS
Steve Cameron Manager Springwood SHS
Michael Armstrong Trainer Redbank Plains SHS
Nathan Broadhurst Physiotherapist AllSports Physiotherapy and Sports Medicine

The results by draw were:

DAY 1 – Thursday, May 19

South West 4 v Peninsula 54

Sunshine Coast 64 v  Presidents XIII 0

Wide Bay 38 v Darling Downs 30

Northern 38  v Metropolitan West 4

Capricornia 20 v Metropolitan East 16

Met North 10 v  South Coast 22

DAY 2 – Friday, May 20

Darling Downs 20 v  South West 8

Metropolitan West 38 v Presidents XIII 4

South Coast 62 v  Wide Bay 6

Metropolitan East 32 v Peninsula 12

Metropolitan North 18 v Sunshine Coast 28                        

Capricornia 6 v Northern 4                                          


DAY 3 – Saturday, May 21

Darling Downs 24 v Presidents XIII 12

Metropolitan West 32 v South West 0                   

Wide Bay 0 v Peninsula 30

Metropolitan North 23 v Capricornia 22

South Coast 38 v Metropolitan East 4

Sunshine Coast 4 v Northern 50


DAY 4 – Sunday, May 22

South West 24 v Presidents XIII 8                                                             

Metropolitan West 14 v Darling Downs 16                                                                                                

Wide Bay 16 v Capricornia 40      

Peninsula 24 v Metropolitan North 12

Metropolitan East 18 v Sunshine Coast 14

South Coast 26 v Northern 28


Player of Championship

Payne Haas (Keebra Park State High School)


Final Standings

  1. Northern
  2. South Coast
  3. Metropolitan East
  4. Sunshine Coast
  5. Peninsula
  6. Metropolitan North
  7. Capricornia
  8. Wide Bay 16
  9. Darling Downs
  10. Metropolitan West 14
  11. South West
  12. Presidents XIII 

See here for more school footy news

Acknowledgement of Country

Queensland Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Platinum Partners

View All Partners