You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

Players with Intrust Super Cup and NYC Under 20s experience will spearhead the Queensland Universities team selected this week.

The student Maroons will face the NSW Universities team at Suzuki Stadium on Saturday, October 8, with an Australian team to be selected from that match.

The Australian side will contest the Universities World Cup as part of the Rugby League International Federation’s Festival of World Cups in Sydney next year.

Several players from Intrust Super Cup clubs have been chosen, including Easts Tigers’ centre Jamie Anderson, Tweed Heads’ prop Ethan Price and outside back David Sheridan and Mackay Cutters’ forward Joss Boyton.

Under 20 Broncos Josh Rudolph, Sam Leach and Kalolo Saitaua are in the team, as well as former Gold Coast Titan Kobe Tararo.

Australian Universities’ players backing up from last year’s 2-0 Test series victory over New Zealand include Chris Ostwald, Nick Timm, Lane Ferling, Michael O’Keefe and Price.

The Queensland Universities team will go into camp under coach Gary O’Brien and assistant Mark Tookey.

Former NRL mentor at the Raiders and Warriors, Matt Elliott, will coach the Australian team with his assistant, Tweed Heads’ coach Aaron Zimmerle.


Jamie Anderson (Education in Building College)
Jayden Best (Queensland University of Technology)
Joss Boyton (University of Central Queensland)
Lane Ferling (Queensland University of Technology)
Samuel Leach (Tafe Brisbane)
Jarrod Lee (University of Southern Queensland)
Chris Medcalf (Swinburne University)
Michael O'Keefe (University of Southern Queensland)
Chris Ostwald (Queensland University of Technology)
Samuel Pau (James Cook University)
Jack Peoples (Australian Catholic University)
Ethan Price (Southern Cross University)
Giovanni Rapana (Griffith University)
Joshua Rudolph (Brisbane Tafe)
Kalolo Saitaua (Brisbane Tafe)
David Sheridan (Southern Cross University)
Kobe Tararo (Griffith University)
Nick Timm (University of Southern Queensland)

Meanwhile, the Universities Rugby League Queensland grand final will be held tomorrow (Wednesday, September 14) night at Davies Park in Brisbane.

Minor premiers Griffith University Dragons will face off with the Queensland University of Technology Trouts for the title.