You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

Harris Fields (Logan) captain Lahui Tau spoke to QRL TV before their big NRL Development Cup grand final on Sunday.

The five-eighth was excited by the opportunity to play at Suncorp Stadium with his team – which includes rugby league loving girl Malaela Su’a on the wing – saying it will be “an opportunity of a lifetime”.

Co-coach Leon Panapa – who plays with the Souths Logan Magpies Intrust Super Cup team – said he would remind his players to enjoy the occasion.

“I’ll just remind them we are here to have some fun, and to play the best they can and play like the stars.”

Watch the full video with Lahui and Leon above.

NRL Development Cup Under 12 grand final team lists

Harris Fields State School (Logan)

1. Riccardo Marius 2. Derek Wiggins 3. Nazra Ashby 4. Regan Pouesi 5. Malaela Su’a 6. Lahui Tau (c) 7. Kulan Watson 8. Kywyn Tialata 9. Tutanekai Sellars 10. PJ Su’a 11. Tulifau Amosa 12. Beni Allen 13. Lytrell Morrison-White 14. Kelvyn Togia 15. Fatalele Alosio 16. Ezra Tapsell 17. Joe Siku-Masters 18. Damon Hayes 19. Immanuel Setiu

Coach: Leon Panapa / Tamati Elers

St Patrick's Catholic Primary School (Emerald)

1. Sam Chick 2. Brayden Jones 3. Callan Campbell 4. Sam Young 5. Blake Field 6. Clancy Harrison 7. Tye Comiskey (c) 8. Sam Carlyon 9. Diezel Brunker 10. Eli Lohse 11. Sam Karanicolos 12. Mack Nixon 13. Tikaimoa Kaono 14. Ben Pease 15. Sam Gilmour 16. Lewis Palella 17. Jack Heinemann 18. Lachlan Ware 19. Connor Moore

Coach: Max Martin

About the NRL Development Cup

The Under 12 competition is conducted by the National Rugby League in partnership with Queensland Rugby League and Queensland Sport Rugby League 10-12 years.

The NRL Development Cup program provides every primary school in the state (regardless of the size or location of the school) with the opportunity to compete for a state championship.

Smaller schools are also given the option to combine with neighbouring schools if they do not have sufficient numbers to compete as their own team.

This year, more than 400 schools from 12 different school sports regions across Queensland participated in the competition.

Regional Winners 2016:



Met East

Harris Fields State School

Met West

Kruger State School

Met North

Holy Spirit Primary School

Sunshine Coast

Coolum State School

South Coast

Guardian Angels Primary

Darling Downs

Highfields Primary School


Kirwan State School


Cairns West State School


St Patrick’s College, Emerald


Gulf Christian College

Wide Bay

Torbanlea State School

South West

St John’s (Roma)