You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

Paterika Vaivai and Kurtis Rowe have been named joint winners of the Burleigh Bears Player of the Year award at the I Luv Coffee Burleigh Bears presentation night held last Friday night.

Hulking prop Vaivai, who has been picked up by the Gold Coast Titans for 2017, led the way up front all year for the Bears while Rowe produced a remarkably consistent season at fullback.

Vaivai’s ability to get over the advantage line and cause trouble with footwork and skill at the defensive line was a vital part of Burleigh’s game plan and his partnership with Luke Page produced arguably the best front row in the competition. 

Meanwhile, Rowe was the club’s standard bearer for consistency, never playing a bad game in 2016.

In attack, he crossed the line 20 times, while his ability to organise the defence from the back and come up with the big defensive plays when needed was second to none.

Players Player went to hooker Pat Politoni, the Coaches Award went to prop Luke Page, Hayden Schwass picked up Rookie of the Year, while Vaivai also claimed best forward honours to round out the premiership winning Intrust Super Cup team awards.

As well as honouring the Intrust Super Cup players of the year, the night also recognised plenty of other players for their work on and off the field as the club celebrated 2016.

Other best and fairest winners on the night included Zahara Tamara from the premiership-winning Bears Women’s team, Keanu Rimene from the FOGS Colts side, Chirrs Law from A Grade, Tyler Waters from the premiership winning Reserve Grade and Wicus Boshoff from the Under 19 team.

Full list of winners below: 

Intrust Super Cup
Players’ Player: Pat Politoni
Best Forward: Paterika Vaivai
Best and Fairest: Paterika Vaivai and Kurtis Rowe
Coaches Award: Luke Page

Best and Fairest: Zahara Tamara
Players Player: Rona Peters
Coaches Award: Tamzin Gray

FOGS Colts Challenge
Best and Fairest: Keanu Rimene
Players Player: Tiki Harawira
Coaches Award: Joe Tangeria

A Grade
Players Player: Sam Grant
Best Forward: Tyler Sparkes
Best and Fairest: Chris Law
Coaches Award: Rhys Duke

Reserve Grade
Best and Fairest: Tyler Waters
Players Player: Jackson Luke
Coaches Award: Jack Collision 

Under 19
Best and Fairest: Wicus Boshoff
Players Player: Will McCarthy
Coaches Award: Jackson Gisinger

Rookie of the Year: Hayden Schwass
Clubman of the Year: Paige Rogers and John Newton


For more Intrust Super Cup player awards stories – stay tuned to 

Other club award winners:

Northern Pride
Mackay Cutters
Souths Logan Magpies
Townsville Blackhawks

Acknowledgement of Country

Queensland Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Platinum Partners

View All Partners