You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

By QRL Media

The Queensland Rugby League have selected an exciting Queensland Murri Women’s squad who will look to press for further representative honours when they take on a NSW Koori Women’s selection next month.

The Queensland squad mixes a number of experienced campaigners with some fresh new talent, with players selected from the recent Queensland Murri Carnival and the Zenadth Cup.

Two players, Elsja Mosby and former Australian representative Latoya Billy, were selected from the Thursday Island carnival staged on the weekend of October 14-15.

Selector and coach Ben Jeffries said he was looking forward to working with the players chosen to represent Queensland.

“There were two main carnivals – the QMC (Queensland Murri Carnival) and just on the weekend, the TI (Zenadth Cup) carnival was just completed … from these two carnivals, we selected 20 girls,” he said.

“We have a balance of some experience that I think we will need, but girls like Suvanah Connors and Samartha Leisha really stood out in the QMC Carnival and I am really looking forward to seeing them play against the NSW Koori team.”

The squad also includes current Jillaroo and Queensland Women’s team member Libby Cook-Black, who is joined by current Women’s Indigenous All Stars captain Tallisha Harden.

The selected Queensland Murri Women’s players will be supported with fitness and training programs by the QRL and NRL in preparation for a Queensland v NSW Indigenous Women’s trial camp being stage in Sydney on the weekend of November 5-6.

From this trial camp and game; players will be looking to gain a place in the Women’s Indigenous All Stars program (guided by head coach Dean Widders) to play during the NRL All Stars weekend next February.

In his role as Queensland Murri Women’s coach, Jeffries will be assisted by Teresa Anderson and Veronica White who both have vast experience in the women’s game at a variety of levels.

Watch the full video with coach Ben Jeffries above.

Queensland Murri Women’s squad
(alphabetical by first name)

Amber Pilley
Bo De La Cruz
Courtney Robinson
Elsja Mosby
Emily Young
Gagie Namok
Tallisha Harden
Kelsey Parkin
Latoya Billy
Layla Fauid
Libby Cook-Black
Molly O’Connell
Nicole Collins        
Norita Nelliman
Patrice Chambers
Samartha Leisha
Sarah Field
Suvanah Connors
Stephanie Mooka
Tahlulah Tillet


Acknowledgement of Country

Queensland Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Platinum Partners

View All Partners