You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

The Queensland Rugby League have announced their Under 15 / Under 16 Queensland Murri squad for 2016 / 2017.

The 21 players were selected following the conclusion of the Deadly Choices Arthur Beetson Foundation Queensland Murri Carnival staged at Redcliffe’s Dolphin Oval in September.

Teams from across the state competed at the community event with some talented players selected to represent their state firstly on a tour of New Zealand in December and next year during the NRL All Stars event in February.

The 2017 Under 16 Murri team will face off against a young NSW Kooris side in the annual interstate challenge which finished in a 16-16 draw at Suncorp Stadium this year.

Head coach for the team Jim Stevens, an NRL Game Development Officer in Queensland’s Central Division said it was a “massive opportunity” for the players who were selected.

“This year we’ve got a good mix of players (in the squad),” Stevens said.

“They have come from all over the state, and have played both club and school football.

“It’s a massive opportunity for these kids … It’ll be a great step for those players.”

See the full interview with Jim Stevens above

The boys will assemble in early December to prepare for their tour of New Zealand where they will play an Under 15 / Under 16 Auckland Invitational side in Auckland and an Under 15 NZ Maori team in Rotorua.

They will reconvene for their Under 16 Queensland Murri camp early next year in preparation to play against the Under 16 NSW Koori side as part of the NRL All Stars week.

Queensland Under 15 / Under 16 Murri squad (in alphabetical order)

Brent Barnes (Helensvale Hornets JRLFC)
Jesse Braslin (Helensvale Hornets JRLFC)
Bailey Biondi-Odi (Innisfail Brothers JRLFC)
Leo Blennerhassett (Innisfail Brothers JRLFC)
Denzel Borthwick (Bribie Island & District JRLFC)
Watjerra Briggs (Charleville JRL)
Rayden Burns (Brothers Bulldogs JRL – Mackay)
Cole Gardiner (Carina JRLFC)
Hamish Gibson (Tully RLFC)*
Tyreese Gyemore (Cherbourg JRL)
Tyler Han (Logan Brothers RLC)
Vaughn Kim (North Thuringowa RLFC)
George Lee (Logan Brothers RLC)
Ben McKellar (Charleville JRL)
Elia Mooka (Innisfail Brothers JRLFC)
Byron Parnell (Helensvale Hornets JRLFC)
Alofiaua Khan-Pereira (Burleigh Heads JRL)
Lochie Pollock (St George RLFC)
Lyncoln Rebel (Past Brothers JRLFC Gladstone)
Jackson Smith (St George RLFC)
Rodney Wailu-Walsh (Sarina JRLFC)

Acknowledgement of Country

Queensland Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Platinum Partners

View All Partners