You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Brisbane Women's A-Grade Grand Final - Burleigh Bears V Souths Magpies at Bishop Park

The SEQ Women’s competition kicks off this weekend with 19 teams involved across three divisions.

The division will kick off on different dates – with the Division 1 and Division 3 teams to get their season started from tomorrow (April 8-9), while Division 2 will begin the following weekend (April 22).

The Burleigh Bears are the defending champions in Division 1 – but have seen a shake-up in the off-season with premiership-winning skipper Karina Brown moving to Easts Tigers to establish a new team at that club.

In another key development, the Souths team will compete in Division 2 this season with many of the rep players that helped make the club a dominant force in this competition transferring across to other clubs.

With this spread of elite talent across the competition, it will be exciting to see how the games unfold.

The clubs involved in the SEQ Women’s Competition this year are:

Team involved in Division 1 (five clubs): Beerwah, Easts Tigers, West Brisbane Panthers, Burleigh and Brothers Ipswich

Team involved in Division 2 (eight clubs): Western Fillies, Wynnum, Aspley, Sunnybank, Caboolture, Souths, Norths Ipswich and Carina

Team involved in Division 3 (six teams): Logan City Hawks, Inala, Normanby Hounds, Mt Gravatt, Jimboomba and Flagstone

Download the full season draw --> SEQ Division Senior Women’s Competition (uploaded April 7)

*While much attention of Women’s Rugby League followers will be trained onto the two A Grade games being played (with Beerwah hosting the Tigers on Saturday and Burleigh at home to an Ipswich Brothers side boasting a number of Jillaroos representatives); Purtell Park’s Division C match between Normanby Hounds and Mt Gravatt also holds much appeal.

The QRL’s Database and Innovation Officer Jemma Whitnall is suiting up for the Hounds in a game that will be refereed by her boss, QRL Major Competitions Manager Dave Maiden. The Saturday match kicks off at 1.30pm.

Acknowledgement of Country

Queensland Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Platinum Partners

View All Partners