You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

Last Saturday, the best players from the Toowoomba Junior Clydesdales, Warwick and District Chargers, South West Stockmen and the Roma and District Redbacks competed for championship honours at the South West Mustangs Annual Challenge and Selection Trials.

The weekend was hosted by the Miles Devils Junior Rugby League who worked tirelessly to ensure everything ran smoothly.

South West Mustangs Representative Co-ordinator Brad Steer was impressed with the high level of junior rugby league at the weekend.

“The standard of footy was entertaining and demonstrates our region is still producing high-quality rugby league players,” Steer said.

In his first year as Representative Co-ordinator, Steer thanked the many people for their assistance.

“Thank you to the many individuals who contributed to making the day a success. There is a lot of behind the scenes work, and I sincerely appreciate the assistance provided,” he said.

“A day like this doesn’t just happen on its own."

“Thanks must also be given to those officials who gave up their weekend to make the carnival and selection trials work – our match officials, first aid officers, selectors, coaches and managers.”

The South West Mustangs would also like to thank the parents, players and supporters for their contribution and support, many of which travelled long distances to allow their child such opportunities in the greatest game of all, rugby league.

Action from the Mustangs junior trials


Under 13 Boys

Toowoomba defeated Stockmen
Stockmen defeated Warwick and District
Toowoomba defeated Warwick and District

Under 14 Boys

Toowoomba defeated Stockmen
Warwick and District defeated Stockmen
Toowoomba defeated Warwick and District

Under 16 Boys

Toowoomba defeated Stockmen
Toowoomba defeated Warwick and District
Stockmen defeated Warwick and District


Under 13 Peter Kuhl Trophy: Toowoomba Junior Clydesdales
Under 14 Peter Cavanagh Trophy: Toowoomba Junior Clydesdales
Under 16 Michael Paterson Memorial Trophy: Toowoomba Junior Clydesdales

Congratulations to all the players listed below who were selected along with the coaching staff:


1. Jordain Beezley (Toowoomba)
2. Joshua Truscott (Toowoomba)
3. Matt York (South West)
4. Riley Wockner (Toowoomba)
5. Ayden Bate (Warwick and District)
6. Trae Bennett (Warwick and District)
7. Declan Ryan (Toowoomba)
8. Bode Ferguson (Toowoomba)
9. Dillon McFeeters (Toowoomba)
10. Darcy Carswell (Toowoomba)
11. Clayton McGee (Toowoomba)
12. Kooper Diment (Toowoomba)
13. Dominic Whittingham (Toowoomba)
14. Beau Petfield (South West)
15. William Pascoe (South West)
16. Dan Howard (Warwick and District)
17. Blake Mills (South West)
18. Matt Brewer (Toowoomba)
19. Martyn Steel (South West)

Coach: Bob Bell
Assistant Coach: Jim Stevens
Manager: Andrew Clem
FAO: Sonia Lund


1. Angus Wright (Toowoomba)
2. Zach Beckwith (Warwick and District)
3. Ky Taaffe (South West)
4. Jayden Thurston (Toowoomba)
5. Jayden Lippi (Warwick and District)
6. Jed Bignell (South West)
7. Brandon Paix (Toowoomba)
8. Xavier Va’a (Toowoomba)
9. Shaun Packer (South West)
10. Noah Dwyer (Toowoomba)
11. Blake Cesari (Toowoomba)
12. Keanu Wright-Dunrobbin (Toowoomba)
13. Tyson Stevens (Toowoomba)
14. Matt Wilson (Toowoomba)
15. Isaac Page (South West)
16. Berton Nimo (South West)
17. Nathan Kleidon (Toowoomba)
18. Jacheam Close (Toowoomba)
19. Ky Rashleigh (Warwick and District)

Coach: Craig Frattini
Assistant Coach: Scott Morton
Manager: Troy Huggins
FAO: Greg Coase


1. Sam Ogden (Warwick and District)
2. Ollie Moy (Toowoomba)
3. Lockie Pollock (South West)
4. Reece Liston (Toowoomba)
5. Jeremy Morgan (Toowoomba)
6. Lachlan Martyn (South West)
7. Jordan Lipp (Toowoomba)
8. Harvey Wright (South West)
9. Jake Simpkin (Toowoomba)
10. Connor Williams (Toowoomba)
11. Matt Eising (South West)
12. Corey Wright (Toowoomba)
13. Jye Johnson (South West)
14. Mitch Farlow (Toowoomba)
15. Riley Wilson (Toowoomba)
16. Jack Sullivan (Toowoomba)
17. Wade King (Toowoomba)
18. Dylan Brassel (Warwick and District)

Coach: Darren Wilson
Assistant Coach: Russell Jones
Manager: Neville Brauer
FAO: Pat Johnson


1. Abbey Holley
2. Tahnee Gilkinson
3. Kira Etherington
4. Kylie Janes
5. Tyra Mitchell
6. Courtney-Lee Nolan
7. Ella Kowitz
8. Katelyn Anderson
9. Taylor McDougall
10. Taylah Stanley
11. Alex McDonald
12. Sophie Elara
13. Georgia Voll
14. Caitlyn Steel
15. Allira Gyemore
16. Mairead Webb
17. Emily Faint
18. Aloma Lancaster
19. Sierra Hill

Coach: Lisa Croft
Assistant Coach: Jayde Ware
Manager: Jackie Stephson
FAO: Lisa Frattini


1. Rosie Ebbage
2. Katayah Jackson
3. Ashyly Kuhn
4. Kaleshia Janes
5. Jayde Rolph
6. Jasmine Gray
7. Reeghyn Beardmore
8. Abigail Budden
9. Maddie Rigney
10. Antonia Roma
11. Alecia Pienaar
12. Nykiah Duncan
13. Abelee Stanley
14. Nkala Garvey
15. Donna Naulu
16. Naekisha Sayers
17. Harriet Brown
18. Tahlia Pearson
19. Isabella Williams-Widgell

Coach: Kris Whale
Assistant Coach: Angela Campbell
Manager: Chantal Revell
FAO: Justin Brown

The teams will compete at the upcoming Central Division Junior Carnival for selection in the Central Crows and will train over the next three weeks before arriving in camp on Friday, June 2.

The Division Junior Carnival is set to be held in Central Queensland this year, being hosted by the Gladstone and District Junior Rugby League at Marley Brown Oval on Saturday, June 3 and Sunday, June 4.

The Central Queensland Capras, Wide Bay Bulls and Sunshine Coast Falcons have also named their sides ahead of the carnival.

CQ announces junior reps
Wide Bay select junior Bulls reps
Sunshine Coast name junior reps

Acknowledgement of Country

Queensland Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Platinum Partners

View All Partners