You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

The Queensland Rugby League A Grade and Women’s State Carnival will showcase the best local league talent at Southport this weekend.

The three-day tournament will kick off tomorrow (Friday, June 2) and continue until Sunday, June 4.

Central Queensland Crows, North Queensland Marlins, SEQ Water Dragons and the Brisbane Poinsettias have assembled talented Men’s and Women’s squads to take part in the annual contest.

The team lists can be view by downloading the PROGRAMME here (updated)

Last year’s defending champions are the Central Crows in the Men’s Division and while the perennially strong SEQ Division claimed the honours for the Women.

However, both Central and Northern are catching up in the Women’s competition and will push SEQ all the way this year.

North Queensland are hitting the Gold Coast with some fire power and will be led up-front by Jillaroos Renae Kunst and Heather Ballinger who will be supported by a lightning back line.

CQ will also be a force to be reckon with and boost Beerwah’s Stephanie Gallagher, Sarah Walker and Annette Brander, who will combine up the middle.

The Men’s side of the competition will also feature some exciting talent from all squads and players will be out to impress.

The XXXX Queensland Rangers team to take on NSW Ron Massey Cup squad at Pizzey Park on June 25 will be selected from this tournament.

All games will be played at the Southport RLFC, Owen Park, Jackman Street, Southport. 

The competition draw is as follows:

Day 1 – Friday, June 2

5.15pm (Emerging Women) - South East Queensland v Central
6.30pm (Women) - South East Queensland v Central

Day 2 – Saturday, June 3

1.15pm (Women’s) - South East Queensland v Northern
2.30pm (A Grade) -  South East Queensland v Central
4pm (A Grade) - Poinsettias v Northern

Day 3 – Sunday, June 4

11am (Women)  Central v Northern LIVESTREAM
12.15pm (A Grade)  Central v Northern LIVESTREAM
1.45pm (A Grade)  South East Queensland v Poinsettias LIVESTREAM

Tournament Notes:

Each Men’s match will be played in 2 x 35 minute halves with no “injury time” added to each half.
Each Women’s match will be played in 2 x 30 minute halves with no “injury time” added to each half. 
A break of 10 minutes will be allowed at half time for all matches.

Carnival Championship

Points total of eight (8) will be awarded for each match during the competition on the following basis:

Win - 4 points
Draw - 2 points each team
Loss - 0
Most points scored each half -2 points

If teams are tied on points after the two days of competition, their positions will be determined on the following basis:

i) Most wins, then (if equal)
ii) For and against, then (if equal)
iii) Most tries scored, then (if equal)
iv) Least penalties incurred

The leading team on points at the completion of the competition will be declared the Carnival winner and be awarded the QRL Divisional Trophy.

*More information on tournament rules can be found in the Carnival Handbook at the venue.

The entry fee will be $5 (with students and aged pensioners $2).