You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

Minus the competition's leading scorer in Kotoni Staggs, Redcliffe has overcome 2017 grand finalists Sunshine Coast 26-4 in the duel for the James Ackerman Cup.

In an annual contest between the two clubs which remembers diehard forward Ackerman, who passed away in 2015, Redcliffe led from start to finish before a strong crowd.

The result elevates the Dolphins into the top five, while the Falcons are struggling to stay inside the top eight.

Redcliffe's first points came via Jonus Pearson in the 14th minute, followed soon after by Nathan Watts in the 17th minute.

The halftime advantage was 10-0 to the Dolphins, providing a positive rebound after they were beaten 26-24 by the Northern Pride a week before.

Minus Kotoni Staggs, called up to the Brisbane Broncos for his NRL debut, the Dolphins started with towering Scott Schulte in the centres and five-eighth Bryce Donovan as their kicker.

Sunshine Coast were meanwhile without hooker Harry Grant, a leading candidate for The Courier-Mail Player of the Year, along with missing Justin Olam and Tui Kamikamica.

Their attacking fluency spluttered as a result, and unforced errors and ineffective last tackle options cruelled their potency.

The Falcons failed to score until second-rower Jye Ballinger crossed over in the 67th minute, by which time the result was out of reach.

At the death Jeremy Hawkins added the icing on the cake, scoring a converted try in the final minute.
Next week Redcliffe hosts the CQ Capras in the 1pm Saturday Channel Nine match of the round, while Sunshine Coast travels to Tweed Heads at 2pm Sunday.

Full scoring details and final team lists available at QRL Live.

REDCLIFFE DOLPHINS 26 (Jonus Pearson, Nathan Watts, Tony Tumusa, Jeremey Hawkins tries; Bryce Donovan 5 goals) def SUNSHINE COAST FALCONS 4 (Jye Ballinger try) at Sunshine Coast Stadium.