You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

Queensland Outback and North Queensland United are set to do battle Sunday on the Sunshine Coast in the annual clash between the two remote areas.

Hundreds of kilometres from home, both teams arrived into camp on Thursday to meet and train together ahead of the much-anticipated encounter.

The Outback side is made up of players from Leagues in the Western parts of Queensland, including Mount Isa, Roma & District and the Central West.

Among those is former Sunshine Coast Falcons hooker Brenton Stonier, who will be returning to the venue of his former Intrust Super Cup club and representing Outback from Mount Isa for the fourth time.

The NQ team includes players from Palm Island, the Cape and Indigenous communities, the North Peninsula Australia and its five communities and the Torres Strait Islands.

These teams comprise of players who travel far across the land and water to make it to their matches with some teammates travelling a number of hours one-way just to participate in the great game of all.

Some even make the two-hour journey across the water to Thursday Island to play their local club.
This year's clash is the concept's seventh instalment, with the Outback hoping to end North Queensland's four-year reign.

Although results have varied with close margins to some large wins, both teams will be looking to impress the coastal crowd and take home the trophy.

Kick-off is at 11.30am at Sunshine Coast Stadium ahead of the Round 18 Hastings Deering Colts and Intrust Super Cup clashes between the Falcons and Wynnum-Manly.

For those who can't make it, the game will be live streamed on the Queensland Outback Rugby League Facebook page.


Watch the Queensland Outback take on Northern United at Sunshine Coast Stadium.

Posted by Rugby League - Queensland Outback on Friday, 13 July 2018

11.30am Sunday, July 15
Sunshine Coast Stadium, Bokarina


1. Tommy Krosch 2. Zeke Thompson 3. Corey Carlson 4. Jackson Shelswell 5. Warren Draper 6. Joey Packer 7. Jack Just 8. AJ Hauff 9. Brenton Stonier 10. Chris Gelhaar 11. Rob McLeod 12. Dylan Buckingham 13. Lance Cope 14. Alex Coonan 15. Khan Ladbrook 16. Luke Brosnan 17. Adam Hughes 18. Michael Fletcher

Coach: Wayne Smith


1. Dominic Macumboy 2. Tabua Woosup 3. Dylan Creek 4. Alex Tipoti 5. Trent Lyons 6. Aaron Binawel 7. Isaac Rokeby 8. Andrew Sampson 9. Jawa Guligo 10. George Gabey 11. Bill Eseli 12. Kevin Bell 13. Gabriel Bon 14. Terrance Yusia 15. Leon Bond 16. Sebastian Creek 17. Zengrey Nona 18. Gabriel Creek

Coach: Robert Yorkston