You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Gubb-inator set to suit up for BRL elimination semi

Six teams become just four as the In Safe Hands Cup finals series gets underway this weekend.

Defending premiers Valleys will not make a second run at the title, as they and the Souths Magpies both bowed out of contention last weekend, leaving the Dolphins, the Panthers, the Seagulls and the Tigers to battle it out.

Redcliffe finished as minor premiers for the second year in a row and they will face the West Brisbane Panthers in a grand final qualifier, while the third-placed Bayside Seagulls will host the Easts Tigers in an elimination final.

The elimination final will kick off at 5pm at BMD Kougari Oval. The Seagulls and Tigers will meet again just seven days after the Tigers shut out Bayside with a splendid display of defence to register a 20-2 win.

Bayside Skipper John Te Reo spoke during the week and praised the Tigers defence.

"We chucked everything at them but we just couldn't get through," he said.

Easts have named a formidable outfit as they look to repeat last week's performance and stay in the finals race. Other than a mid-season run of three in a row, the Tigers have been guilty of not stringing wins together often enough this year.

It won't be easy, as Bayside have added Intrust Super Cup experienced players to their line-up in the likes of Peter Gubb and Adam Tuimavave-Gerrard, however Mitchell Frei is ineligible for finals due to playing too many Cup games this season.

Easts showed they can defeat the green machine, and the Seagulls will need to put last week's loss behind them, as the winner will meet the loser of the major semi-final next week.

That major semi-final will take place at Dolphin Stadium at 7pm on Saturday night between the Dolphins and the Panthers. Both clubs have held top spot on several occasions this year, with Redcliffe putting their bottlenose in front across the final weeks.

For the visitors, they welcome playmaker Zach Strasser, whose combination with hooker Adam Harris will prove a handful for the 'Phins defence.

Both have the ability to keep their opponents guessing with ball in hand, whether they are taking it to the line or putting unmarked players through gaps.

Redcliffe halfback Reece Braun, who played his first game at this level against the Panthers, has similar powers. The injection of the dancing Tony Tumusa from fullback could have the Panthers defence spending some unwanted time in the in-goal.

However, the most anticipated contest surely would be between two of the best ball carriers in Redcliffe's Jordan Pinnock and Panther Michael Molo.

While Pinnock will be coming off the bench. If both are on the paddock at the same time, small children should leave, as this will be bone crunching rugby league.

The winner will have the week off and prepare for the grand final, while the loser will face the minor semi-final winner in the preliminary final next week.

In Safe Hands Cup Finals Week 1

Minor Semi-Final: Seagulls vs Tigers - BMD Kougari Oval, Saturday September 1 at 5pm


1. Matthew Milson 2. Peter Gubb 3. Harlan Collins 4. Tumoana Halkyard 5. Jack Goodsell 6. John Te Reo 7. Mitchell Moore 8. Ngarima Pita 9. Kalolo Saitaua 10. Billy Solah 11. Adam Tuimavave-Gerrard 12. Semisi Ahoafi 13. Joshua Hoffman 14. Corey Davis 15. Jacob Paulo 16. Bradley Mana 17. Kelly Tate 18. Jaz Nahu-Main 19. Adrian Elder (Two to be omitted)

Coach: Ron Troutman


1. James Salter 2. Brandon Downey 3. Harry Pondekas 4. Michael Egan 5. Jayden Carroll 6. Josh Ralph 7. Josh Curti 8. Matt Groat 9. Jack Walters 10. Ash Little 11. Jaiyden Hunt 12. Jarred Tuite 13. Anton Iaria 15. Heath Wilson 16. Jesse Uhlmann 19. Haydin Elsebach 20. Gene Ropoama

Coach: David Krause

Major Semi-Final: Dolphins vs Panthers – Dolphin Stadium, Saturday September 1 at 7pm


1. Tony Tumusa 2. Justice Utateo 3. Sam Leach 4. Mosese Pangai 5. Will Partridge 6. Reece Braun 7. Radean Robinson 8. Samson Graham 9. Tristan Hope 10. Bailey Butler 11. James Flack 12. Agassi Stowers 13. Sheldon Pitama 14. Jordan Pinnock 15. Tauaalo Vaipulu 16. Taylor Brown 17. Ben King

Coach: Daniel Green


1. Campbell Mohr 2. Namila Davui 3. Kennedy Pettyborne 4. Sam Collins 5. James Olds 6. Kyle Van Klaveren 7. Zach Strasser 8. Michael Molo 9. Adam Harris 10. Drae Aiono 11. Troy Swift 12. Billy Rogers 13. Dominic Biondi 16. Mitchell Hallinan 17. Gavin Causer 18. Simona Vavega 19. Josh Afoa

Coach: Wayne Weekes